Furyk Heads Star-Studded Field in S Africa


Sunshine TourA stellar 12-player field will battle for the $1,200,000 first-place prize at the 2006 Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Country Club Course, in Sun City, South Africa.
The 12-player field is led by defending champion Jim Furyk and he will be joined by Chris DiMarco, Retief Goosen, Colin Montgomerie, Ernie Els, Padraig Harrington, Jose Maria Olazabal, David Howell, Charl Schwartzel, Sergio Garcia, Trevor Immelman and Henrik Stenson.
Of the 12 players in the field, only Schwartzel is not ranked in the top 20 in the world. The South African is No. 76 in the latest world rankings.
Furyk became the first American since Corey Pavin in 1995 to win this title. Els, meanwhile, is making his record 15th appearance here. He has won this title three times and finished second four other times.
The Golf Channel has tape-delayed coverage of all four rounds beginning Thursday at noon.