Garcia Shares Clubhouse Lead


MAJORCA, Spain -- Simon Khan stands at 5 under par through 13 holes and holds a share of the lead during the first round of the Mallorca Classic. Play was delayed over two hours on Thursday due to rain during the round and was eventually halted due to darkness.
Khan is tied with Francois Delamontagne, who is 5 under par through nine holes.
Carlos Rodiles and Sergio Garcia share the clubhouse lead at 4-under-par 66. They are joined there by Darren Fichardt, who has completed 12 holes, and David Dixon, who is through nine holes at Pula Golf Club.
Khan dropped in back-to-back birdies from the par-3 second. He jumped to minus-4 with an eagle at the par-5 sixth and picked up a birdie at the ninth to make the turn at minus-5.
The Englishman birdied the 11th to move to 6 under and one shot clear of the field. However, Khan stumbled to a bogey at the 13th to fall back into a share of the lead.
Delamontagne posted a birdie at the first, then ran off three consecutive birdies from the third to jump to minus-4 through five holes. The Frenchman collected his fifth birdie at the par-4 seventh and parred his final two holes before play was called.
Garcia began his round on the 10th tee and picked up a lone birdie over his first nine holes. On the front side, Garcia birdied one and three before faltering to a bogey at the fourth. The Spaniard collected birdies at six and seven to get to 4 under.
'I feel the Spanish fans deserve to watch me play,' said Garcia. 'It's my first time in Spain this year and I'm really happy that I came. I don't come here thinking this is a done deal. I think the field is better than some might think.'
Rodiles also started on the second nine. He birdied the 11th and 18th to head to the front at minus-2 and continued his steady play with pars on the first four holes. Rodiles picked up another birdie at the fifth and climbed to 4 under with a birdie on the ninth.
Robert Karlsson, Santiago Luna and Tomas Jesus Munoz share seventh place at 3-under-par 67. They are tied there by Alastair Forsyth (15 holes), Peter Fowler (12) and Steven O'Hara (9).
Related Links:
  • TGC Airtimes
  • Leaderboard - Turespana Mallorca Classic
  • Full Coverage - Turespana Mallorca Classic