Lake Nona wins Tavistock Cup


ORLANDO, Fla. – Justin Rose and Ross Fisher each collected two points Tuesday to lead Lake Nona to its third win at the Tavistock Cup.

Lake Nona defeated Isleworth, 17-13, for the club's second straight win in the event. The victory for Nona was its first at Isleworth and ties the series at 3-3-1.

Tuesday's format saw two players from each club playing individual matches against both players from the opposing club in their foursome.

Isleworth's Nick O'Hern won the Payne Stewart Silver Salver Award for the low score of the day Tuesday with his 7-under 65. That helped him collect two early points, but Nona's captain Ernie Els and Graeme McDowell both beat Brian Davis as the first group split the four available points.

Rose posted a 4-under 68 to beat Isleworth captain Mark O'Meara (69) and Stuart Appleby (72). O'Meara beat Ben Curtis, who halved Appleby to push the Lake Nona lead 10 1/2 - 7 1/2.

Charles Howell III helped Isleworth close the gap to 12-10 with wins over Retief Goosen and Trevor Immelman. Goosen beat John Cook, who halved Immelman.

Fisher bettered Lee Janzen and Arjun Atwal to extend Lake Nona's to 14-10 and Peter Hanson won one match and lost his other match to move Nona within 1/2 point of winning the title.

Ian Poulter sealed the title for Lake Nona by beating Robert Allenby by four strokes and halving his match with J.B. Holmes. Henrik Stenson and Allenby halved their match, while Holmes beat Stenson to create the final margin.