Mackenzie Re-elected USGA President


USGAFAR HILLS, N.J. -- Reed K. Mackenzie was re-elected to serve a second one-year term as president of the United States Golf Association on Saturday. The election of officers and the full 15-member executive committee took place at the USGA's annual meeting this weekend in San Diego, Calif.
Mackenzie, 60, who served four years as vice president and a year each as treasurer and secretary, oversees the leadership of the professional staff of the USGA, as well as over 1,200 volunteers who serve on more than 30 committees.
The Minnesotan first became involved with the USGA with the Junior Amateur Championship Committee, in which he served as a member from 1978 to 1991. He became a member of the Executive Committee in 1992, a year after serving as general chairman for the U.S. Open at Hazeltine National Golf Club, his home course in Chaska, Minnesota.
Mackenzie has officiated every U.S. Open since 1978 and has been a rules official at over 70 USGA championships. He joined Hazeltine in 1965 and has been club champion four times in addition to serving as club president from 1981-1984. He was president of the Minnesota Golf Association from 1988-1990 while his wife, Jane, served as president of the Minnesota Women's Golf Association in 1988.
The other elected officials of the executive committee are Fred S. Ridley of Tampa, Florida, and Walter W. Driver, Jr., of Atlanta, as vice-presidents and Eric J. Gleacher of New York, as secretary each of whom were re-elected. Paul D. Caruso Jr., of Helena, Mont., was chosen as treasurer while Fredric C. Nelson of San Francisco, California was selected as the general counsel.
Craig Ammerman of Cherry Hill, New Jersey, Dr. Lewis H. Blakey of Alexandria, Virginia, Emily R. (Missy) Crisp of Mill Neck, NY, Mary Bea Porter-King of Kapaa, Hawaii, James E. Reinhart of Mequon, Wisconsin and Bruce C. Richards of Bellevue, Washington were re-elected to the Executive Committee.
Three new members have been elected to one-year terms on the Executive Committee: James T. Bunch of Denver, Colorado, Cameron Jay Rains of La Mesa, California and James F. Vernon of Pasadena, California. In addition, John W. Vardaman of Washington, DC, moves from his role as general counsel to a member of the Committee.
Jeanne-Marie Boylan of Boston, Massachusetts, John D. ONeill of Quiogue, NY, H. Winfield Padgett of Dallas, Texas and John Suisman of Bloomfield, Connecticut retired from the committee.