Seniors Kick Off Major Season


PGA of AmericaROCHESTER, New York -- The Champions Tour opens its major championship season this week with the Senior PGA Championship.
Denis Watson opened with a pair of 71s last year on the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island, but rallied for rounds of 69-68 on the weekend to walk away with a two-shot win over 2006 JELD-WEN Tradition winner Eduardo Romero.
For Watson, it was not only his first Champions Tour win, but it was also his first major title on any tour. Watson trailed Romero by two entering the final round, but blew by the Argentine as Romero closed with an even-par 72.
Hale Irwin has won this title four times, second only to Sam Snead's six wins in this championship. Irwin is the only player to win this title three straight years (1996-98).
The Senior PGA is the first of five majors for the Champions Tour. The other four are the Senior British Open Championship, U.S. Senior Open Championship, JELD-WEN Tradition and Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship.
The Senior British, U.S. Senior Open and JELD-WEN Tradition are slated to be played back-to-back-to-back over a four-week stretch in July and August.
The East Course at Oak Hill will host this championship for the first time. The course has hosted three U.S. Opens (1956, 1968 and 1989), the 1984 U.S. Senior Open, two U.S. Amateurs (1949 and 1998), two PGA Championships (1980 and 2003), the 1995 Ryder Cup and is scheduled to again host the PGA Championship in 2013.
Oak Hill is the only venue that has hosted the U.S. Open, the Senior Open and the Amateur as well as the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA and a Ryder Cup.
The GOLF CHANNEL will cover three hours of action the first two rounds, while NBC takes over for three hours of coverage on both Saturday and Sunday.
The Champions Tour moves to Iowa next week for the Principal Charity Classic, where Jay Haas won last year.

Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Sr. PGA Championship
  • GOLF CHANNEL Airtimes