Singh Love Strange Head Hall of Fame Ballot


ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. -- Reigning PGA Tour Player of the Year Vijay Singh headlined the 33 golfers on the 2005 World Golf Hall of Fame ballot, which was released on Friday.
Singh won nine times last year, including his second PGA Championship, en route to Player of the Year honors. Singh, who also won the 2000 Masters, ascended to the top spot in the World Rankings after defeating Tiger Woods at the Deutsche Bank Championship.
Singh's career victory total is up to 25 after winning last week's Sony Open in Hawaii.
The balloting includes two categories, PGA Tour/Champions Tour players and International. For a player to get enshrined, he or she must get at least 65 percent of the vote.
Nominations in the Lifetime Achievement and Veteran's categories were also distributed this week. The class of 2005 will be announced later in the spring.
Also new to the PGA Tour/Champions Tour ballot in 2005 is Davis Love III, the 1997 PGA Champion. Love has 18 career wins and played in six Ryder Cups. Former major winners Fred Couples, Lee Janzen and Mark O'Meara appear on the ballot.
The top returning vote-getter on the PGA Tour/Champions Tour section is back- to-back U.S. Open champion Curtis Strange. He netted 55 percent of the vote last year as Tom Kite was the only player elected through this process.
Colin Montgomerie tops the International ballot. He won seven consecutive Order of Merit titles on the European Tour from 1993-1999. Montgomerie also has one of the most impressive Ryder Cup records in history. In seven appearances, the Scotsman amassed a record of 19-8-5, and has never been beaten in a singles match.
Also on the ballot are former major winners Ian Woosnam and Sandy Lyle. Ayako Okamoto is the top returning vote-getter as she was named on 36 percent of ballots in 2004.
The World Golf Hall of Fame, which has 104 members, will induct this year's class on November 14.