Three Additions to Cisco World Match Play Field


Ian Woosnam_HSOn Monday, three players have were added to this year's Cisco World Match Play field.
England's Nick Faldo, Ian Woosnam of Wales, and Australia's Adam Scott will compete this year in Surrey, England.
With the addition of Faldo and Woosnam, the elite field will now boast five past winners of the event. Faldo won the event in 1989 and 1990, while Woosnam titled in 1987 and 1990. The other past winners in the field are Vijay Singh (1997), Colin Montgomerie (1999), and Lee Westwood (2000). For Westwood it will be his last chance to defend a title this year.
U.S. Open Champion Retief Goosen, European Ryder Cup members Darren Clarke, Thomas Bjorn, and Padraig Harrington, as well as Canadian Mike Weir will also participate.
One spot remains open. It is expected that the announcement of the 13th player to join the field will take place later this week.
The Cisco World Match Play Championship will take place from October 11-14, 2001.
More Golf Headlines