Tiger Lefty Ogilvy Grouped at PGA


2006 PGA ChampionshipTiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Geoff Ogilvy -- the winners of this year's first three majors -- will be grouped together for the first two rounds of the PGA Championship next week.
The season's fourth and final major begins next Thursday at Medinah Country Club, where Mickelson will be the defending champion after going wire-to-wire for his first PGA Championship last year at Baltusrol.
Mickelson, also this year's Masters champion, and Woods, who claimed his third British Open last month, will tee off with Ogilvy, a first-time major winner at the U.S. Open in June, on No. 10 beginning at 9:30 a.m. (et) Thursday.
Woods will be seeking his third PGA Championship after going back-to-back in 1999-2000. He won his first Wanamaker Trophy in the only other PGA Championship held at Medinah in '99.
Two-time PGA Champion Vijay Singh will join fellow past champions John Daly and Jeff Sluman in an afternoon group on the first day. That threesome will tee off at 2:35 p.m. on No. 1.
Ernie Els, a three-time major winner who has never won this event, will tee off two groups ahead of Singh's threesome at 2:15 p.m. Joining him will be Sergio Garcia, who finished second to Woods in '99, and 1990 runner-up Fred Couples.
Chris DiMarco, who posted a gutsy runner-up finish to Woods at the British Open last month, will be in a threesome with an international flavor. Beginning at No. 10, he will join 2005 U.S. Open champion Michael Campbell of New Zealand and Englishman Lee Westwood on the tee at 9:10 a.m.

Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - PGA Championship