Tiger Paired with Daly Singh at PGA


04 PGA ChampionshipKOHLER, Wis. -- Tiger Woods, whose last major title came at the 2002 U.S. Open at Bethpage, will have some hefty company at the PGA Championship as the top player pairs with Vijay Singh and John Daly in the opening rounds at Whistling Straits.
Woods, who won the PGA Championship at Medinah in 1999 and at Valhalla in 2000, will join Singh, the 1998 winner at Sahalee, and Daly, who came out of nowhere to capture the 1991 PGA Championship at Crooked Stick, at 9:20 a.m. (et) off the 10th tee in the first round. The trio will tee off at 2:35 p.m. off the first tee in the second round on Friday.
Woods and Daly battled Singh in a losing effort at Warwick Hills as the Fijian won the Buick Open for his fourth victory of the season on the PGA Tour. Daly actually had a chance to force a playoff, but missed his putt at the last. The next day, Daly and Woods were pitted against each other in the primetime match play event at The Bridges.
Defending champion Shaun Micheel will begin at 2:15 p.m. off the first tee on Thursday along with two-time PGA Championship winner Nick Price and Paul Azinger, who defeated Greg Norman in a playoff at the 1993 PGA Championship at Inverness.
Todd Hamilton, who earned his first major last month at the British Open at Troon, will be joined by the other two major champions of 2004, U.S. Open winner Retief Goosen and Masters champion Phil Mickelson. That trio will tee off at 2:35 p.m. off the first tee on Thursday and at 9:20 a.m. off the 10th tee on Friday.
A trio of former PGA champions in Davis Love III, Rich Beem and David Toms will have a 1:55 p.m. start off the first tee on Thursday.
Ernie Els will be looking to move one step closer to completing the career grand slam next week. Els, who lost the British Open in a playoff to Hamilton, will be joined by Padraig Harrington and 2003 U.S. Open winner Jim Furyk on the 10th tee at 8:50 a.m. on Thursday.
Sergio Garcia, the runner-up in 1999, follows at 9:00 a.m. off the 10th tee along with European Ryder Cup captain Bernhard Langer and Mark Calcavecchia.
United States Ryder Cup captain Hal Sutton will tee off at 2:15 p.m. off the 10th tee on Thursday. The 1983 champion at Riviera will be joined by 1986 winner Bob Tway and Mark Brooks, who won the PGA Championship in a playoff over Kenny Perry in 1996.
Related Links:
  • Photo Gallery - Whistling Straits
  • Tee Times
  • Full Coverage - PGA Championship
  • Course Tour - Whistling Straits