Zoeller Slams Fellow Major Winners


SUPERSTITION MOUNTAIN, Ariz. -- Fuzzy Zoeller carded a 1-under 71 Sunday to win the Senior Slam at Superstition Mountain Golf & Country Club. His two-day total of 6-under-par 138 gave him a one-shot victory over Don Pooley.
Stewart Ginn took third place at 3-under par, while Jim Thorpe took last at 1-over-par 145.
The Senior Slam featured the winners of the four major championships on the 2002 Champions Tour schedule. Zoeller captured the Senior PGA Championship, while Pooley won an epic playoff against Tom Watson to win the U.S. Senior Open. Thorpe won the Tradition at the beginning of the 2002 campaign and Ginn took the title at the Senior Players Championship.
'When you play against the best, it brings the best out in everybody,' said Zoeller, a rookie on the elder circuit in 2002. 'This is a great feeling. This is a great way to end the year. You've got your four major winners. We're all winners. Everybody out here won. It was a win-win for everybody. It's just somebody has to finish first.'
Zoeller owned a three-shot lead after Saturday's first round, but Ginn caught Zoeller by the turn on Sunday. Zoeller birdied the 10th to recapture the lead, but he fell back down with a bogey at No. 11.
Ginn fell off the pace, but Pooley moved up the leaderboard to tie Zoeller. Pooley dropped his tee ball in a bunker at the par-3 15th and took a bogey, dropping him out of the lead for good.
Pooley had one last chance at the par-3 17th when Zoeller landed in a sand trap behind the green. Pooley followed him into the bunker and both saved pars, effectively giving Zoeller the title.
'I wasn't concerned about (Pooley),' said Zoeller, who pocketed the first-prize check of $300,000. 'My only concern was getting my ball on the green and getting birdies.'
'I had some opportunities and I didn't capitalize on them,' said Pooley, who won $150,000 for second place. 'I had makable birdies on 12 and 13. I missed those and I bogeyed 15. Those three opportunities would have made a big difference.'
Ginn took home $100,000 for third while Thorpe received $50,000 for fourth place.