Ryder Cup Revives Montys Career

By Associated PressSeptember 20, 2006, 4:00 pm
36th Ryder Cup MatchesSTRAFFAN, Ireland -- Colin Montgomerie figured his Ryder Cup days were over.
 
He was going through a nasty divorce in 2004, unable to walk past a newsstand without seeing tabloids filled with headlines and photos about his personal life. His game was in similar disarray, knocking him well out of the top 50 in the world and the Ryder Cup standings.
 
Colin Montgomerie and Ian Woosnam
Colin Montgomerie easily made Ian Woosnam's team this year.
European captain Bernhard Langer threw him a lifeline by making him a captain's pick for 2004.
 
Even now -- especially now -- Montgomerie hasn't forgotten.
 
Beyond winning the match that clinched outright victory at Oakland Hills, the 43-year-old Scot resurrected his career.
 
He captured the Order of Merit for a record eighth time. He gained ground on Tiger Woods while paired with him in the third round of the British Open at St. Andrews, although he wound up the runner-up by five shots when it was over. And he was on the verge of winning the U.S. Open until chunking a 7-iron on the last hole at Winged Foot to make double bogey.
 
'I don't think if I was selected ... I wouldn't have won the Order of Merit last year, that's for sure,' Montgomerie said. 'That selection by Bernhard Langer two years ago was vital for my career. I was 41 at the time, and it was not looking good. The last few years were not good, both on and off the course. It wasn't good at all.
 
'That pick, I believe, saved me in many, many ways.'
 
He is no longer a troubled soul looking for a handout. He easily qualified for this team, making this his eighth consecutive Ryder Cup.
 
And there is little doubt who is the juggernaut of this European team heading into the start of the event Friday.
 
'If I had to pick one player out who has been their most outstanding Ryder Cupper over the last decade, it's been Colin Montgomerie,' Stewart Cink said Tuesday.
 
The record speaks for itself.
 
Montgomerie is 19-8-5 in the Ryder Cup, contributing 21 1/2 points to the European cause in his career. He could break the record of 25 career points by Nick Faldo by winning four points at The K Club, and that's not out of the question. He won three points from the four matches he played at Oakland Hills, including the decisive match against David Toms.
 
And he might end up playing all five matches this week, with just about anyone.
 
'Colin is there as a leader of the team, and I'm prepared to play him with anybody,' captain Ian Woosnam said. 'If it comes to playing with a rookie, I wouldn't hesitate to do that.'
 
There is something about this event that brings out the best in Monty.
 
No one has won more Order of Merit titles in Europe, and yet he is equally known as the best player never to have won a major, not to mention the best player to have never won an official event in America.
 
He didn't show much mettle at Winged Foot, perhaps his greatest chance ever to win a major. Montgomerie was in the 18th fairway and tied for the lead. But he missed his 7-iron so badly that it came up well short of the green, in grass so deep he couldn't get it close to the hole. He three-putted for double bogey, finishing one shot behind.
 
It raised questions, for sure, whether he could perform under the stiffest pressure.
 
And yet, he delivers time and again in the Ryder Cup.
 
Montgomerie is 1-7 in playoffs on the European tour, and 0-2 in playoffs in the majors. But in his seven Ryder Cups, he has never lost in singles, compiling a 5-0-2 record. Along with beating Toms for the clinching point last time, he hammered Scott Hoch while going first off at The Belfry in 2002, a match that set the tone for Europe's victory.
 
This is his favorite event, which is easy for him to say since he has never won a major.
 
But there's deep-rooted truth to that feeling, and it shows in the way he plays, the confidence he carries, and the goals he tries to achieve. Even last time, in such a euphoric moment, he dressed down a British television reporter who tried to suggest it was one of his highest personal moments.
 
'My personal record goes flying out the window, and I'm here for the team,' Montgomerie said Tuesday. 'And I'm sure that my other 11 teammates will come in here and say exactly the same thing. That's why we've done well, and that's why I think we'll do well again.'
 
The last time Montgomerie was in the press center at the Ryder Cup, champagne was flowing at Oakland Hills.
 
Considering how he got onto that team, it appeared to be the perfect ending for Montgomerie in a Ryder Cup career that ranked among the best. He even had put himself forward as a candidate to be captain for 2006.
 
Asked that day outside Detroit whether he was still interested in being captain, Monty never got a chance to answer.
 
'He will play,' Langer said. 'He's too young to be captain. He needs to play.'
 
Langer played a big role in that. Montgomerie has never forgotten him for it.
 
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - 36th Ryder Cup Matches
  • Getty Images

    Thompson bounces back from rule violation

    By Randall MellAugust 19, 2018, 2:22 am

    If Lexi Thompson’s trouble in the sixth fairway brought back any painful memories Saturday at the Indy Women in Tech Championship, she shook them off in a hurry.

    If the approach of another rules official amid a spirited run of brilliant play rattled her, she didn’t show it.

    Thompson posted an 8-under-par 64 in the third round despite another awkward rules infraction.

    Her round was impressively bogey free but not mistake free, and so her work will be a little harder Sunday chasing Lizette Salas.

    After incurring a one-shot penalty for violating a local rule in effect for preferred lies, Thompson will start the final round five shots back instead of four.

    She knows she’s fortunate she isn’t six back.

    If a rules official hadn’t witnessed Thompson in the middle of committing the infraction, she could have been assessed an additional penalty shot for playing from the wrong spot.

    Thompson got the penalty after stepping on the 10th tee and blowing her drive right, into the sixth fairway. She got it after picking up her ball over there and lifting, cleaning and placing it. She got it because she wasn’t allowed to do that in any other fairway except for the fairway of the hole she was playing.

    The preferred-lie rule was distributed to players earlier in the week.

    The story here isn’t really the penalty.


    Full-field scores from Indy Women in Tech Championship


    It’s Thompson’s reaction to it, because she opened this week in such heartfelt fashion. After skipping the Ricoh Women’s British Open to take a month-long “mental break,” Thompson revealed this week that she has been struggling emotionally in the wake of last year’s highs and lows. She opened up about how trying to “hide” her pain and show strength through it all finally became too much to bear. She needed a break. She also candidly shared how the challenges of being a prodigy who has poured herself into the game have led her to seek therapists’ help in building a life about more than golf.

    That’s a lot for a 23-year-old to unload publicly.

    Last year may have been the best and the worst of Thompson’s career. She said dealing with that controversial four-shot penalty that cost her the ANA Inspiration title, watching her mother battle cancer and losing a grandmother were cumulatively more difficult to deal with than she ever let on. There was also that short missed putt at year’s end that could have vaulted her to Rolex world No. 1 for the first time and led to her winning the Rolex Player of the Year title. She still won twice, won the Vare Trophy for low scoring average and was the Golf Writers Association of America Player of the Year.

    That’s a lot of peaks and valleys for a young soul.

    That’s the kind of year that can make you feel like an old soul in a hurry.

    So seeing a rules official approach her on Saturday, you wondered about Thompson gathering herself so quickly. You wondered what she was thinking stepping up and ripping her next shot 215 majestic yards, about her hitting the green and saving par. You wondered about how she  bounced back to birdie 13 and 14 and finish bogey free.

    With this week’s soul bearing, you wondered a lot about what rebounding like that meant to her.

    We’re left to wonder from afar, though, because she wasn’t asked any of those questions by local reporters afterward. The transcript showed three brief answers to three short questions, none about the penalty or the challenge she met.

    Of course, there were other questions to be asked, because local rules have been an issue this year. Did she read the local notes with the preferred lies explanation? She got hit with another local rules issue in Thailand this year, when she hit her ball near an advertising sign and moved the sign, not realizing a local rule made the sign a temporary immovable obstruction.

    Of course, there were other good stories in Indy, too, with Sung Hyun Park poised to overtake Ariya Jutanugarn and return to Rolex world No. 1, with Salas holding off Park so brilliantly down the stretch Saturday.

    Thompson, though, is the highest ranked American in the world. She’s the face of American women’s golf now. A face more tender, resolute and vulnerable than we have ever seen it.

    Folks along the ropes watching her on the back nine in Indy Saturday got to see that better than any of us.

    Getty Images

    Salas capitalizes on Park gaffe to take Indy lead

    By Associated PressAugust 19, 2018, 2:07 am

    INDIANAPOLIS – Lizette Salas waited patiently for Sung Hyun Park to make a rare mistake Saturday.

    When the South Korean mishit her approach shot into the water on the par-4 16th, Salas capitalized quickly.

    She rolled in her birdie putt then watched Park make double bogey – a three-shot swing that gave Salas the lead and the momentum heading into the final round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship. Salas closed out her 8-under 64 with a birdie on No. 18 to reach 21 under – two shots ahead of Park and Amy Yang.

    “I have been striking the ball really well, and I just had to stay patient,” Salas said. “And yeah, putts dropped for sure. I just really felt comfortable.”

    If she keeps it up one more day, Salas could be celebrating her first tour win since the 2014 Kingsmill Championship and her second overall. With five of the next six players on the leader board ranked in the world’s top 30, Salas knows it won’t be easy.

    The changing weather conditions weather might not help, either. If the forecast for mostly sunny conditions Sunday holds, the soft greens that have kept scores at near record-lows through the first three rounds could suddenly become quicker and less forgiving.

    But the 29-year-old Californian seems to have the perfect touch for this course, which weaves around and inside the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

    She shot three sub-par rounds and finished tied for fifth last year here. This year, she has three more sub-par rounds including a course record-tying 62 on Thursday and has been atop the leader board each of the first three days.

    “I have been so confident the whole year,” Salas said. “I have a different mentality, I’m a different player. So I’m just going to go out and play as if I’m behind.”


    Full-field scores from Indy Women in Tech Championship


    Salas’ toughest challenge still could from Park, who spent most of Saturday flirting with a 54-hole scoring record.

    She birdied the last four holes on the front side and made back-to-back birdies on Nos. 13 and 14 to reach 21 under with a chance to become the sixth LPGA player to ever finish three rounds at 23 under.

    The miscue at No. 16 changed everything.

    She never really recovered after dropping two shots, settling for par on the final two holes for a 66 after shooting 68 and 63 the first two days. Yang finished with a 65 after going 68 and 64.

    “I was a little weary with right-to-left wind,” Park said. “I think a little bit of weariness got to me, but overall, it’s OK.”

    Defending champion Lexi Thompson was five shots back after completing the final nine of the second round in 2 under 34 and shooting 64 in the afternoon.

    She made up ground despite being assessed a one-stroke penalty after hitting her tee shot on No. 10 into the sixth fairway and lifting the ball without authority. Rules officials had implemented the preferred lies rule because more than an inch of rain had doused the course.

    Thompson still made her par on the hole though it temporarily broke her momentum after making six birdies on the front nine in her first appearance since taking a monthlong break to recover from physical and mental exhaustion.

    “Twenty-seven holes, I definitely had a few tired swings toward the end,” said Thompson, who finished each of the first two rounds with 68s. “But overall, a lot of positives. I hit it great. I made some really good putts.”

    Three players – Nasa Hataoka of Japan, Jin Young Ko of South Korea and Mina Harigae – were tied at 15 under. Ko started the third round with a share of the lead but had three bogeys in a round of 70.

    Now, all Salas has to do is cash in one more time.

    “I’ve been knocking on the door quite a bit in the last four years, haven’t been able to get it done,” Salas said. “I’ve got good players behind me, I’ve just got to play my game.”

    Getty Images

    Bradley leads Dick's Sporting Goods Open into final round

    By Associated PressAugust 19, 2018, 12:28 am

    ENDICOTT, N.Y. - Michael Bradley shot a 4-under 68 on Saturday to take a two-stroke lead into the final round of the PGA Tour Champions' Dick's Sporting Goods Open.

    The 52-year-old Bradley had five birdies and a bogey in the rain-delayed round to reach 11-under 133 at En-Joie Golf Club. A four-time winner on the PGA Tour, he's seeking his first victory on the 50-and-over tour.

    Bart Bryant and Marco Dawson were tied for second. Bryant, the 2013 winner at En-Joie for his lone Champions title, had a 67. Dawson shot 70.


    Full-field scores from the Dick’s Sporting Goods Open


    Wes Short Jr. (65), Clark Dennis (70) and Tom Gillis (69) were 9 under, and Kenny Perry (69) was 7 under with first-round leader Doug Garwood (73), Mark Calcavecchia (69), Woody Austin (71), Jerry Haas (68) and Scott Parel (68). Perry won the 3M Championship two weeks ago in Minnesota.

    Bernard Langer, the 2014 winner, was 5 under after a 69. Defending champion Scott McCarron had a 71 to get to 1 under. John Daly, the winner of the PGA Tour's 1992 B.C. Open at En-Joie, was 6 over after rounds of 73 and 77.

    Getty Images

    Snedeker still in front on Day 3 of suspended Wyndham

    By Associated PressAugust 18, 2018, 11:21 pm

    GREENSBORO, N.C. - Brandt Snedeker held a three-stroke lead Saturday in the Wyndham Championship when the third round was suspended because of severe weather.

    Snedeker was 16 under for the tournament with 11 holes left in the round at the final event of the PGA Tour's regular season.

    Brian Gay was 13 under through 12 holes, and Trey Mullinax, Keith Mitchell, C.T. Pan and D.A. Points were another stroke back at varying stages of their rounds.

    Thirty players were still on the course when play was halted during the mid-afternoon with thunder booming and a threat of lightning. After a 3-hour, 23-minute delay, organizers chose to hold things up overnight and resume the round at 8 a.m. Sunday.

    When things resume, Snedeker - who opened with a 59 to become the first Tour player this year and just the 10th ever to break 60 - will look to keep himself in position to contend for his ninth victory on Tour and his first since the 2016 Farmers Insurance Open.


    Wyndham Championship: Full-field scores | Full coverage

    Current FedExCup points list


    The 2012 FedEx Cup champion won the tournament in 2007, the year before it moved across town to par-70 Sedgefield Country Club.

    Snedeker's final 11 holes of the round could wind up being telling: In seven of the 10 previous years since the tournament's move to this course, the third-round leader or co-leader has gone on to win.

    And every leader who finished the third round here at 16 under or better has wound up winning, including Henrik Stenson (16 under) last year and Si Woo Kim (18 under) in 2016.

    Snedeker started the day off strong, rolling in a 60-foot chip for birdie on the par-4 second hole, then pushed his lead to three strokes with a birdie on No. 5 that moved him to 16 under. But after he sank a short par putt on the seventh, thunder boomed and the horn sounded to stop play.

    Gay was 12 holes into a second consecutive strong round when the delay struck. After shooting a 63 in the second round, he had four birdies and an eagle on the par-5 fifth hole. He placed his 200-yard second shot 10 feet from the flagstick and sank the putt.