Skip to main content

Senior Slam Moved to Arizona

PHOENIX -- The Senior Slam, the first of four unofficial money events that complete the Senior PGA Tour schedule, will be played in Arizona this weekend in a last-minute switch made with little fanfare.
The $600,000 event for the winners of this year's four major championships will be held Saturday and Sunday on the Lost Gold Course at Superstition Mountain. It was supposed to have been held at the Our Lucaya resort in Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas.
'It was kind of short notice,' PGA spokesman Jeff Adams said Monday. 'It was just an administrative decision. I really don't have any details on why.'
Sandy Davison, the new head pro at the Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club, said Lucaya officials determined last month that they wouldn't be able to stage this year's competition.
'The Tour players liked our course so well it was an easy decision for the Senior PGA (Tour),' Davison said. 'Things went smoothly for them, and course conditions were incredible.'
The Tradition, each year's first Senior major, was played at Superstition Mountain in April -- its first time away from Desert Mountain in Scottsdale, where it originated in 1989.
The Senior Slam was played at Our Lucaya in 2000, but was moved to World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Fla., last year.
Allen Doyle won the 2001 event by two strokes over Tom Watson. Hale Irwin won in 2000.
The tour is working on its 2003 schedule. Adams said the Senior Slam definitely would not return to the Bahamas, but wasn't sure if it would return to Superstition Mountain.
Jim Thorpe won the Tradition. Other qualifiers for the weekend are U.S. Senior Open champion Don Pooley, Senior Players' Championship winner Stewart Ginn and Fuzzy Zoeller, who won the PGA Seniors' Championship.
The winner of the 36-hole, stroke-play tournament will take home $300,000.
A tournament with the same name and format was played in Mexico from 1994-98, with Ray Floyd winning in 1995 and 1996 and Irwin taking the 1997 title.
An 18-hole event was held in Minnesota in August 2000 for major tournament winners from the previous season, and Doyle won.