Skip to main content

PGA Championship timeline

2009 PGA ChampionshipFrom its inception in 1916 at the Siwanoy Country Club in New York through Padraig Harrington's dramatic win last year at Oakland Hills CC in Michigan, we take a look at the history of the PGA Championship.


1916: The Professional Golfers Association of America is formed. Its national championship is held later in the year at Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, N.Y. Jim Barnes wins his first of four major championships as he defeats Jock Hutchinson, 1 up, in the match play format. Barnes is the first to hold the Wanamaker Trophy, which is donated by and named for Rodman Wanamaker.
1917-1918: No PGA Championship is played due to World War I.
1919: Jim Barnes successfully defends his title at Engineers Country Club in Roslyn Harbor, N.Y.
1921: Walter Hagen wins his first of five PGA Championships at Inwood Country Club in Inwood, N.Y. as he defeats two-time winner Jim Barnes, 3 and 2, in the final.
1923: Gene Sarazen becomes the second man to successfully defend the PGA Championship with a win over Walter Hagen. Sarazen wins in 38 holes at Pelham Country Club in Pelham Manor, N.Y.
1927: Walter Hagen wins a record fourth consecutive PGA Championship as he defeats Joe Turnesa, 1 up, at Cedar Crest Country Club in Dallas, Texas.
1928: Leo Diegel ends Walter Hagens win streak with a 6-and-5 victory over Al Espinosa at Baltimore Country Club. He also wins the following years championship to become the fourth golfer to successfully defend the PGA Championship.
1930: Tommy Armour defeats Gene Sarazen with a putt on the final hole for a 1-up victory for his second of three major championships.
1937: Sixteen-time PGA Tour winner Denny Shute becomes the fifth golfer to successfully defend the PGA Championship as he defeats 17-time Tour winner Harold Jug McSpaden in 37 holes.
1940: Byron Nelson secures his first of two PGA Championships with a 1-up win over rival Sam Snead at Hershey Country Club in Hershey, Pa.
1942: Sam Snead wins his first major championship by defeating 1952 champion Jim Turnesa, 2 and 1. Snead holes a 60-foot chip at the end of the match.
1943: No PGA Championship is played due to World War II.
1946: Ben Hogan wins his first major championship as he defeats eight-time Tour winner Ed Porky Oliver, 6 and 4.
1957: Lionel Hebert wins the last PGA Championship that is conducted in a match-play format.
1958: Dow Finsterwald defeats Billy Casper in the first-ever stroke play PGA Championship.
1963: Jack Nicklaus wins his first of five PGA Championships at the Dallas Athletic Club.
1968: Julius Boros defeats seven-time major champion Arnold Palmer and 1963 British Open champion Bob Charles by one stroke to become the oldest player to win a major championship.
1972: Gary Player wins his second PGA Championship after hitting a spectacular recovery shot on the 16th hole at Oakland Hills Country Club in Bloomfield Township, Mich. He wins the championship by two strokes. The shot is still known to this day as one of the best pressure-packed recovery shots in the history of the game.
1980: Jack Nicklaus ties Walter Hagens record of five PGA Championship victories with a seven-stroke victory over Andy Bean at Oak Hill Country Club.
1984: Lee Trevino wins his sixth and final major championship with a four-stroke victory over Gary Player and 1977 PGA champion Lanny Wadkins.
1986: Greg Norman experiences one of his first major championship heartbreaks as Bob Tway holes out from a bunker on the 18th hole for a two-stroke victory over Norman.
1991: In one of the most unpredictable major championships of all time, John Daly wins the PGA Championship at Crooked Stick Golf Club. Daly is the ninth alternate and last man in the field. He arrives without playing a practice round and defeats Bruce Lietzke by three shots to win in his first major championship appearance as a professional.
1993: Paul Azinger defeats Greg Norman in a playoff for his first and only major championship.
1994: Nick Price wins his second PGA Championship in three years with a six-stroke victory over 1995 U.S. Open champion Corey Pavin.
1997: Davis Love III captures his first, and so far only major championship by defeating Justin Leonard by five strokes. As Love putts for the victory, a rainbow appears for one of the most emotional and memorable finishes in PGA Championship history.
1999: Tiger Woods defeats 19-year-old Sergio Garcia by one stroke at Medinah Country Club for his first PGA Championship victory.
2000: Tiger Woods becomes the first golfer since Denny Shute in 1937 to successfully defend the PGA Championship. The win does not come easy, however, as journeyman Bob May pushes Woods to the limit in one of the greatest duels in golf history. Woods eventually defeats May in a playoff.
2003: Little-known Shaun Micheel hits one of the greatest pressure shots in major championship history as he almost holes out from the fairway on the 72nd hole of the championship to defeat Chad Campbell by two shots.
2005: Phil Mickelson claims his second major championship victory after making a birdie on the 72nd hole to defeat 1995 PGA champion Steve Elkington and Thomas Bjorn by one stroke.
2007: Tiger Woods successfully defends the PGA Championship for the second time in his career with a two-stroke victory over Woody Austin.
2008: Three back to start the final round, Padraig Harrington rallies to win his second consecutive major championship, having also won the Open Championship one month prior.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - PGA Championship