Skip to main content

US Open Timeline

2009 U.S. OpenSince 1895 the U.S. Open has been conducted at some of the nations greatest golf venues. During the past century, the championship has also created some of the most memorable moments in golf history. looks back at many of the most captivating moments and endearing champions of the United States National Championship.
1900: Harry Vardon captures his first and only U.S. Open title by two shots over rival J.H. Taylor. Vardon would finish his career with seven professional major championship victories.
1905: Willie Anderson wins his third consecutive U.S. Open, a record which has not yet been matched. In all, Anderson won four U.S. Opens during his short, yet prolific career.
1913: During a championship which helped golf become established in the United States, relatively unknown 20-year-old amateur Francis Ouimet defeats two of the top golfing professionals of the era, Ted Ray and Vardon, in an 18-hole playoff.
1917-1918: No U.S. Open is played due to World War I.
1921: Englishman Jim Barnes wins the championship in dominating fashion by defeating Walter Hagen and Fred McLeod by nine strokes.
Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods won the U.S. Open the last time it was hosted at Bethpage, in 2002. (Getty Images)
1930: Bobby Jones wins the third leg of his historic grand slam after defeating Macdonald Smith by two strokes. After winning the U.S. Amateur, Jones would retire from the game at the age of 28.
1938: Ralph Guldahl wins his second consecutive U.S. Open by six strokes to become the fourth person in U.S. Open history to win consecutive championships.
1942-1945: No U.S. Open is played due to World War II.
1950: In perhaps the greatest comeback in golf history, Ben Hogan wins his second U.S. Open 16 months after a near deadly automobile accident. Due to the accident, Hogan played with discomfort, but still defeats Lloyd Mangrum and George Fazio in an 18-hole playoff.
1951: One year later, Hogan becomes only the fifth golfer to successfully defend the championship as he wins by two strokes over Clayton Heafner. Hogans closing 67 at Oakland Hills Country Club is considered to be one of the greatest final rounds in U.S. Open history. After claiming the trophy, Hogan described Oakland Hills when he said, I am glad that I brought this course, this monster, to its knees.
1955: In one of the greatest underdog stories in golf history, municipal-course pro Jack Fleck defeats four-time U.S. Open champion Hogan in an 18-hole playoff by three strokes. Neither Hogan nor Fleck would win another major championship.
1960: By shooting a final-round 65, including a front nine of 30, Arnold Palmer captures his only U.S. Open title by two strokes over Jack Nicklaus. Palmer began the final round seven shots behind Mike Souchak, but birdied six of his first seven holes to begin one of the greatest come-from-behind victories in major championship history.
1962: Nicklaus battles Palmer in an 18-hole-playoff for his first professional victory and wins his first of four U.S. Opens by three shots. This playoff would lead to one of the most well-known rivalries in the history of golf, as Nicklaus would soon replace Palmer as the greatest golfer in the world.
1964: In one of the greatest examples of endurance in major championship history, Ken Venturi battles extreme heat and dehydration to win his first and only major championship by four strokes over Tommy Jacobs.
1966: Billy Casper defeats Palmer in an 18-hole-playoff for his second U.S. Open title, even though Palmer had a seven-stroke lead with nine holes left in regulation. The defeat would be remembered as one of the most heartbreaking for Palmer, who was hoping to set the all-time U.S. Open scoring record before his collapse during the last nine holes of his final round.
1971: Before defeating Nicklaus in an 18-hole-playoff, Lee Trevino tosses a rubber snake at Nicklaus as part of a practical joke and then shoots a 68 to win the playoff by three shots for his second U.S. Open title.
1973: Johnny Miller shoots a major championship record, final-round 63 to defeat John Schlee by one shot. Miller began the final round six shots behind four leaders, who included Palmer and Julius Boros.
1980: After shooting a first-round 63, Nicklaus defeats Isao Aoki by two strokes for his record-tying fourth U.S. Open victory. Nicklaus held at least a share of the lead throughout the entire championship.
1982: In one of the most memorable moments in U.S. Open history, Tom Watson holes a difficult chip shot for birdie on Pebble Beachs par-3 17th during the final round. Watson would then birdie the 72nd hole as well to defeat Nicklaus by two strokes.
1989: Curtis Strange becomes only the sixth man to win consecutive U.S. Opens. Strange defeats Mark McCumber, Chip Beck and Ian Woosnam by one stroke.
1990: At age 45, Hale Irwin becomes the oldest U.S. Open champion, as well as the fifth player to win three or more U.S. Opens, by defeating Mike Donald in an 18-hole playoff.
1999: Payne Stewart claims his second U.S. Open victory of the decade after defeating Phil Mickelson by one stroke, saving par on the final hole from 15 feet. Stewart would pass away just months later in a tragic airplane crash.
2000: In the most dominating performance in U.S. Open history, Tiger Woods defeats Ernie Els and Miguel Angel Jimenez by 15 strokes. Leading from start to finish, Woods was the only player to end the tournament under par as he tied the all-time U.S. Open scoring record of 272. The fifteen-stroke victory remains the largest in major championship history.
2002: While winning his second U.S. Open in three years, Tiger Woods establishes himself as the Open golfer of the decade as he defeats Mickelson by two strokes at Bethpage Black in New York. This Open will also be remembered as The Peoples Open for its enthusiastic crowds.
2006: In a championship that may be remembered more for who lost than for who won, Geoff Ogilvy obtains his first major championship by a single stroke over Mickelson, Colin Montgomerie and Jim Furyk. Needing a par to win and a bogey to enter a playoff with Ogilvy, Mickelson double-bogeys the 72nd hole to lose. Meanwhile, Montgomerie also scores a double bogey-6 on the 72nd hole, while Furyk bogeys the last to lose by one.
2008: Woods defeats Rocco Mediate in perhaps the most memorable playoff in U.S. Open history. After both Mediate and Woods shot an even-par 71 during the 18-hole playoff, Woods captures his third U.S. Open title on the first hole of sudden death. Woods played the entire championship in pain and would have knee surgery within weeks after the Open. This U.S. Open will also be remembered for Woods 12-foot putt on the 72nd hole of regulation play, which he made to tie Mediate at 283 (1 under par).
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - 109th U.S. Open