Skip to main content

Hagy, Wilson lead 10-man U.S. Palmer Cup team

Brandon Hagy
Getty Images
Ryan Moore drives during the first round of the 2005 Barclays Classic at Westchester Country Club in Harrison, New York on June 23, 2005.Photo by Michael Cohen/  - 

Three of the top four players in the country will represent the United States at the upcoming Palmer Cup.

The Ryder Cup-style event pits the top college players from the U.S. and Europe in a three-day competition, scheduled this year for June 26-28 at Walton Heath in Surrey, England.

Throughout the season, points were awarded for college victories and other high finishes, with negative points for poor results.

The 10-man U.S. team consisted of six players from the top of the Golfstat’s NCAA Player Ranking, three committee picks and one coach’s selection.

The automatic qualifiers for the U.S. team were: Stanford’s Cameron Wilson, Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans, Alabama’s Robby Shelton, Oklahoma State’s Wyndham Clark, Cal’s Brandon Hagy and USC’s Rico Hoey.

Alabama’s Trey Mullinax and SMU’s Bryson Dechambeau were chosen by the selection committee, as was Oglethorpe’s Anthony Maccaglia. One of the selection committee’s picks must be a non-Division I golfer, and Maccaglia became the first D-III player to make the Palmer Cup squad. U.S. Palmer Cup coach Steve Desimone, of Cal, used his wild-card pick on LSU junior Stewart Jolly.

The European team had six automatic qualifiers: Arizona State’s Jon Rahm, UCF’s Ricardo Gouveia, Arizona’s Erik Oja, Illinois’ Thomas Detry, Central Arkansas’ Pep Angles and Houston’s James Ross.

The committee chose UAB’s Paul Dunne and San Diego’s Grant Forrest, while UCLAN’s Louis Tomlinson was the R&A Scholars Tournament Champion. Team Europe coach Andrew Coltart opted for University of Stirling’s James McDonald with his captain’s pick. 

The U.S. leads the all-time series, 9-7-1.