Skip to main content

Rahm, McNealy, Pan named Hogan Award finalists

Getty Images

Three players from the Pac-12 Conference on Wednesday were named finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the top college and amateur player over a 12-month period.

The three first-time finalists are Stanford sophomore Maverick McNealy, Arizona State junior Jon Rahm and Washington senior Cheng-Tsung Pan.

McNealy is the top-ranked college player in the country, having won a Division I-best five times this season, including the Pac-12 Championship by a whopping 10 shots. He also qualified for the 2014 U.S. Open at Pinehurst. McNealy's former teammate, Patrick Rodgers, won the Hogan Award last year.

Rahm, a three-time winner this college season, also captured the World Amateur Team Championship last fall, finished fifth at the PGA Tour’s Phoenix Open and is the No. 1-ranked amateur in the world.

Pan, who became the first four-time semifinalist in the history of the Hogan Award, has won three times this season and also claimed two gold medals at the Asian Games last summer. He qualified for the 2014 British Open and will be looking to become the third Huskies player since 2010 to win the Hogan Award (Nick Taylor, Chris Williams). 

The winner will be announced in a banquet May 18 at Colonial Country Club. The recipient will receive a spot in the 2016 Crowne Plaza Invitational.