Skip to main content

Ten semifinalists named for Ben Hogan Award

Getty Images

Ten semifinalists have been named for the Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the top college and amateur player over a 12-month period.

The three finalists will be named May 7, with the winner receiving the award in a ceremony May 18 at Colonial Country Club.

The 10 semifinalists, in alphabetical order: Bryson Dechambeau (SMU), Greg Eason (UCF), Joey Garber (Georgia), Brandon Hagy (California), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford), Ollie Schniederjans (Georgia Tech), Robby Shelton (Alabama), Cameron Wilson (Stanford) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama). 

Rodgers and Pan have been semifinalists each of the past three years, while Wyatt made the 10-man cut for the second year in a row. 

Eight of the top nine players in Golfstat’s individual rankings are semifinalists. Dechambeau (No. 26) and Pan (No. 42) are the lowest-ranked players to advance.  

Among the notable players who did not make the cut: Alabama senior Cory Whitsett, a U.S. Walker Cup member; Tennessee sophomore Oliver Goss, a U.S. Amateur finalist who made the cut at last week’s Masters; and Oklahoma State sophomore Jordan Niebrugge, who won the U.S. Amateur Public Links and Western Amateur, and played on the Walker Cup team. 

Recent winners of this prestigious award include Rickie Fowler (2008), Kyle Stanley (2009), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).