Golfs Rules Get a Bit More Sensible

By George WhiteSeptember 29, 2005, 4:00 pm
I do believe that golf rules are finally getting on the same page as the golfers. Im referring to the vast majority of hit-and-gigglers, who are light years removed from the professionals who populate the PGA Tour. We watch those guys play their driver-wedge game on the weekends, but it isnt even remotely similar to the game we dabble at in our pastures across the globe.
 
Golfs two ruling bodies - the United States Golf Association and the Royal & Ancient - sent out news releases a couple days ago detailing a few changes in the manner in which the game is legally supposed to be played. In so doing, the ruling bodies got a step closer to golf as it is played among the masses.
 
One of the more surprising changes is the one concerning use of distance-measuring devices, either the GPS-based systems now widely found on golf carts or the laser rangefinders.
 
Didnt know your cart was illegally helping you when the graphic revealed you were 132 yards from the pin? Yep, it is. But the governing bodies will now accept local rules permitting such devices. Of course, if a local rule is not made, the carts and rangefinders still are illegal. Boo, hiss!
 
Now, I would much rather see a guy fumble around with his measuring devise than to have some schmoe actually step off the distance to the 150-yard or 100-yard marker. And incidentally, arent these markers just as much a distance device as the range-finding gizmos?
 
Isnt the scorecard itself, which tells you the distance on a par-3 is 178 yards, a distance-measuring aid? To be truly consistent, you should either allow these devices ' 200-, 150- and 100-yard markers, plus distance on scorecards - or not have any measurements at all. Yeah, we would be taken back to the days of old when a scoreboard was just a piece of paper with 18 spaces for the scores. But ' if thats the way you want to play your golf, so be it.
 
The revised rules also will do away with the provision which caused the disqualification of Jesper Parnevik and Mark Roe at the 2003 British Open. Roe and Parnevik forgot to exchange scorecards and ended up keeping the scores on the wrong cards ' yeah, their own. Yes, they kept the numbers exactly as they should have been. But no, they didnt keep them on the correct cards. Ergo, they signed incorrect cards.
 
Consequently, both were given the heave-ho. Roe in particularly was hit hard ' he had just shot a 67 in the third round, good for third place going into the finale. But he was sent packing ' no excuses allowed.
 
Now, such an error may be forgiven by the committee. Its official now ' good ol rule 6-6d/4, allowing authorities to strike the wrong name from an otherwise correctly completed score card without a time limit.
 
Bravo, bravo. They didnt go far enough, of course. The whole thing about scorecards and disqualifications is patently silly. A DQ because a player inadvertently forgot to sign a scorecard is punishment far beyond the crime.
 
Maybe such action was necessary in the 1920s, but it certainly isnt today. With a scorer walking there beside you each step of the way, plus an opponent there to keep your score also, plus the electronic scoreboards ' plus in many instances television ' it is impossible to cheat by recording an illegal score.
 
Two more rules changes make the game imminently more sensible. One has to do with where a player may stand when making a putting stoke. Sometimes, in attempting not to step in an opponents line, a player inadvertently positions himself on an extension of the line of putt behind the ball. The rule was originally put in to prevent the croquet style of putting. However, a little sanity was placed back into the rulebook.
 
Also, a liberalized interpretation of what is considered to be the normal course of play will allow the repair or replacement of a damaged club in more circumstances, provided that the club was not abused. Again, makes perfectly good sense to me.
 
Now, for a couple of rules which are screaming to be changed ' but which never will be in my lifetime:
 
Will they ever change the rule which says players may not tamp down spike marks in their line to the cup? I know, I know, one player in 10,000 may spend an inordinate amount of time funnelling out a line completely to the hole. But does the USGA really think a ball could be favorably affected by doing this?
 
Bernhard Langer will forever remember the rule. A spike mark affected perhaps the most infamous putt in golf ' Langers crucial miss of a 6-footer at Kiawah in 1991. A spike mark was in his line, but he wasnt allowed to touch it. Too bad, Bernhard, and goodbye, Ryder Cup trophy.
 
And while were at it, how about changing that rule about out-of-bounds balls? A ball which goes out of bounds by one inch carries a much greater penalty than a whiff you go back to the spot where you hit the shot, add a penalty stroke, and hit again. However, if you swing and miss completely, you simply swipe at it again.
 
This must be the most widely ignored rule in golf: If you discover your ball has drifted out of bounds, do you go to the trouble of stopping the play of you and the group behind you, walk back to the area where you swung, and do it all over again? No, not if you are like 999 of a 1,000 players, who shrug, lay a ball down inside the out-of-bounds line, take a penalty stroke and play on.
 
In spite of these pet peeves, let us keep in mind the big picture ' these roles changes represent a quantum leap in the rules. The USGA and the R&A are indeed moving in the right direction.
 
Email your thoughts to George White
Getty Images

Molinari hopes to inspire others as Rocca inspired him

By Rex HoggardJuly 22, 2018, 8:43 pm

CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – Francesco Molinari was 12 years old when Costantino Rocca came within a playoff of becoming Italy’s first major champion at the 1995 Open at St. Andrews.

He remembers being inspired by Rocca’s play and motivated by the notion that he could one day be the player who would bring home his country’s first Grand Slam title. As he reflected on that moment late Sunday at Carnoustie it sunk in what his victory at The Open might mean.

“To achieve something like this is on another level,” said Molinari, who closed with a final-round 69 for a two-stroke victory. “Hopefully, there were a lot of young kids watching on TV today, like I was watching Constantino in '95 coming so close. Hopefully, they will get as inspired as I was at the time, watching him vie for the claret jug.”


Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


Molinari had already made plenty of headlines this year back home in Italy with victories at the European Tour’s flagship event, the BMW PGA Championship, and the Quicken Loans National earlier this month on the PGA Tour.

A major is sure to intensify that attention. How much attention, however, may be contingent on Sunday’s finish at the German Grand Prix.

“It depends on if Ferrari won today. If they won, they'll probably get the headlines,” Molinari laughed. “But, no, obviously, it would be massive news. It was big news. The last round already was big news in Italy.”

Molinari won’t have any competition for the front page on Monday; Ferrari didn’t win the German Grand Prix.

Getty Images

Schauffele on close call: Nothing but a positive

By Ryan LavnerJuly 22, 2018, 8:41 pm

CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – Playing in a final group at a major for the first time, Xander Schauffele awkwardly splashed out of three pot bunkers, went out in 40 and still somehow had a chance to win at Carnoustie.

Playing the 17th hole, tied with Francesco Molinari, Schauffele flared his approach shot into the right rough and couldn’t get up and down for par. He dropped one shot behind Molinari, and then two, after the Italian birdied the final hole.

Just like that, Schauffele was doomed to a runner-up finish at The Open.

“A little bit of disappointment,” he said. “Obviously when you don’t win, you’re disappointed. Hats off to Francesco. I looked up on 17 and saw he got to 8 under, which is just incredible golf and an incredible finish.”

Schauffele did well to give himself a chance. The 24-year-old was in the final group with Spieth, but both youngsters fell off the pace after rocky starts. The Tour’s reigning Rookie of the Year birdied the 14th but couldn’t convert a 15-footer on the treacherous 16th that would have given him a one-shot cushion.

“It’s going to go in the memory bank as a positive,” he said. “I had a chance to win a major championship. I was in the final group. I had to face a little bit of adversity early in the round, and I still gave myself a chance. Anyone can look at it however they want to, but I’m going to look at is as a positive moving forward and try to learn how to handle the situations a little better next time.”  

Getty Images

They came, they saw and Molinari conquered The Open

By Rex HoggardJuly 22, 2018, 8:28 pm

CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – From a perch above the 17th tee, next to a three-story grandstand that may well be the tallest structure on the Angus coast, the 147th Open Championship unfolded with more twists and turns than a Russian novel.

It was all there like a competitive kaleidoscope to behold. In quick order, Rory McIlroy’s title chances slipped away with a whimper, a par at the last some 100 yards to the left of the 17th tee. Tiger Woods, seemingly refreshed and reborn by the Scottish wind, missed his own birdie chance at the 16th hole, a half-court attempt near the buzzer for a player who is 0-for-the last decade in majors.

Moments later, Kevin Kisner scrambled for an all-world par of his own at No. 16 and gazed up at the iconic leaderboard as he walked to the 17th tee box, his title chances still hanging in the balance a shot off the lead.

Francesco Molinari was next, a textbook par save at No. 16 to go along with a collection of by-the-book holes that saw the Italian play his weekend rounds bogey-free. He also hit what may have been the most important drive of his life into what a Scot would call a proper wind at the 17th hole.

Xander Schauffele, who was tied with Molinari at the time at 7 under par, anchored the action, missing a 15-footer for birdie at the 16th hole. Moments later the Italian calmly rolled in a 5-footer for birdie at the last to finish his week at 8 under par.


Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


All this unfolded over a frenzied final hour of play at Carnoustie, offering just a taste of what the other four-plus hours of play resembled.

“I couldn't watch Xander play the last two holes, to be honest,” said Molinari, who became the first Italian to win a major. “That's why I went to the putting green, because I probably would have felt sick watching on TV,”

Carnoustie may not be the fairest of the Open rotation courses, but it certainly delivers the dramatic goods regularly enough.

Woods’ prediction earlier in the week that this Open Championship would come down to no fewer than 10 would-be champions seemed hyperbolic. It turns out he was being conservative with his estimate.

All total, 11 players either held a share of the lead or moved to within a stroke of the top spot on a hectic Sunday. For three days Carnoustie gave, the old brute left exposed by little wind and even less rough. Earlier in the week, players talked of not being able to stop the ball on the dusty and dry links turf. But as the gusts built and the tension climbed on Sunday, stopping the bleeding became a bigger concern.

If most majors are defined by two-way traffic, a potpourri of competitive fortunes to supercharge the narrative, this Open was driven in one direction and a cast of would-be champions with a single goal: hang on.

A day that began with three players – including defending champion Jordan Spieth, Kisner and Schauffele – tied for the lead at 9 under, quickly devolved into a free-for-all.

Kisner blinked first, playing his first three holes in 3 over par; followed by Spieth whose poor 3-wood bounded into a gorse bush at the sixth hole and led to an unplayable lie. It was a familiar scene that reminded observers of his unlikely bogey at Royal Birkdale’s 13th hole last year. But this time there was no practice tee to find refuge and his double-bogey 7 sent him tumbling down the leaderboard.

“I was trying to take the burn out of the equation by hitting 3-wood to carry it. It was unlucky. It went into the only bush that's over on the right side. If it misses it, I hit the green and have a birdie putt,” Spieth said.



Schauffele’s struggles coincided with Spieth’s, with whom he played on Sunday, with a bogey at the sixth sandwiched between a bogey (No. 5) and a double bogey (No. 7).

This opened the door to what the entire golf world has awaited, with Woods vaulting into the lead at 7 under par, the first time since the ’11 Masters he’d led at a major, and sending a low rumble across the course.

Since Woods last won a major, that ’08 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines on one leg, Spieth and Schauffele, who Tiger spotted four strokes on Sunday, graduated from high school; McIlroy went from phenom to four-time major winner and Donald Trump was transformed from being a TV celebrity to the President of the United States.

But the fairytale only lasted a few minutes with Woods playing Nos. 11 and 12 in 3 over par. They were the kind of mistakes the 14-time major champion didn’t make in his prime

“A little ticked off at myself, for sure. I had a chance starting that back nine to do something, and I didn't do it,” said Woods, who finished tied for sixth but will have the consolation prize of moving into the top 50 in the world ranking to qualify for the last WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone in two weeks.

But as Woods faded, McIlroy made a familiar move, charging in an eagle putt at the par-5 14th hole to tie Molinari and Schauffele at 6 under par. The Northern Irishman would run out of holes, playing the final four in even par to finish tied for second, but the moment wasn’t lost on him.

“It was great, just to be a part of it and hear the roars. Tiger being back in the mix. You know, everything,” McIlroy said. “There's a lot of big names up there. It was nice to be a part of it. For a while, I thought Tiger was going to win. My mindset was go and spoil the party here.”

By the time the final groups reached Carnoustie’s finishing stretch it was a two-man party, with Molinari proving for the second time this month that boring golf can be effective.

Although he’d won the European Tour’s flagship event in May, Molinari decided to add the Quicken Loans National to his schedule because of his precarious position on the FedExCup points list (122nd) – he won that, too. The week before the Open, he fulfilled his commitment to play the John Deere Classic, a requirement under the PGA Tour’s new strength of field rule, and finished second.

Although his track record at The Open was nothing special – he’d posted just a single top-10 finish in his first 10 starts at the game’s oldest championship – his machine-like game was always going to be a perfect fit for a brown and bouncy links like Carnoustie and a topsy-turvy final round.

“I told his caddie earlier this week, because I didn’t want to say it to [Molinari], I have a good feeling this week,” said Molinari’s swing coach Denis Pugh. “It was the perfect combination of clarity and confidence.”

With the sun splashing against the baked-out fairways, Molinari emerged from the clubhouse, wide-eyed and a little dazed after what could only be described as a major melee, his no-nonsense, fairways-and-greens game the perfect tonic for an Open that defied clarity until the very end.

Getty Images

Spieth and Schauffele were put on the clock Sunday

By Rex HoggardJuly 22, 2018, 8:13 pm

CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – Contending in a major championship on what is largely considered the toughest major championship course can be hard enough, but as Jordan Spieth reached the 10th tee box, he was given another layer of anxiety.

Spieth, who was playing with Xander Schauffele on Sunday at Carnoustie, was informed that his group had fallen behind and been put on the clock. On the next tee, he was given a “bad time” for taking too long to hit his drive.


Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


“I handled it OK, but looking back, you know, that was a turning point in the round,” said Spieth, who played Nos. 10 and 11 in even par and finished tied for ninth after a closing 76. “If you get 1 under on those two holes with a downwind par 5 left [No. 14], it's a different story.”

Spieth, who began the day tied for the lead with Schauffele and Kevin Kisner at 9 under, had dropped out the top spot with a double bogey-7 at the sixth hole. He was tied for the lead when officials put his group on the clock.

“I took over the allotted time on the tee on 11 to decide on 3-iron or 3-wood, but throughout the day, I think I played the fastest golf I've probably ever played while contending in a tournament,” he said.