David Howell had an interesting first day with his new caddie.
Howell tweeted on Thursday that his caddie informed him of a rules violation while playing the 18th hole on the Old Course during Round 1 of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.
MyCaddy noticed I'd teed up in front of tee marker on 18 today, 2 shot penalty, 1st day with me, honest as the day is long, #Integrity— David howell (@davidhowell530) October 5, 2017
Well, couldn’t the caddie have informed him of a possible infraction before it became an actual infraction?
Blue T & white T were touching giving the impression of being 1 teeing ground, he checked I was behind the marker, I was wrong one though— David howell (@davidhowell530) October 5, 2017
And Howell’s reaction?
Nope, I patted him on the back and told him he's just done a good honest thing, it's not easy doing that when it hurts your own pocket— David howell (@davidhowell530) October 5, 2017
With his double at the 18th, Howell shot even-par 72 in the first round. He shot 4-over 76 on Friday at Carnoustie.