Skip to main content

India's Chawrasia solidifies Olympic spot with win

Getty Images

S.S.P. Chawrasia's win at the European Tour's Indian Open was a long time coming, but the timing couldn't have been better for his Olympic hopes.

Chawrasia erased the disappointment of four runner-up finishes in his country's biggest tournament, winning by two shots after a back nine that included an impressive scrambling par from a bush. The win moved him up 92 spots to No. 151 in the world rankings, and all but locked up his spot to represent India at the Olympics alongside Anirban Lahiri.

Qualification for the Olympics will run through the Open Championship in July. Countries can have a maximum of two representatives among the 60-man field, with the max raised to four if all are ranked inside the top 15.

Here's a look at who is currently in line to participate when golf returns to the Olympics this summer after a 112-year absence:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Jason Day (AUS)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Adam Scott (AUS)

7. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

8. Justin Rose (GBR)

9. Dustin Johnson (USA)

10. Danny Willett (GBR)

11. Branden Grace (RSA)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

14. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

17. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

18. Danny Lee (NZL)

19. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

20. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

21. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

22. David Lingmerth (SWE)

23. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

24. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

25. Martin Kaymer (GER)

26. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

27. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

28. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

29. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

30. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

31. K.T. Kim (KOR)

32. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

33. Joost Luiten (NED)

34. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

38. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

39. Alex Cejka (GER)

40. David Hearn (CAN)

41. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

42. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

43. Ryan Fox (NZL)

44. W.C. Liang (CHN)

45. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

46. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

47. Ashun Wu (CHN)

48. Camilo Villegas (COL)

49. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

50. Angelo Que (PHI)

51. Roope Kakko (FIN)

52. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

53. Danny Chia (MAS)

54. C.T. Pan (TPE)

55. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

56. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

57. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

58. Lin Wen-Tang (TPE)

59. Mardan Mamat (SIN)

60. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)