Skip to main content

Day tops Olympic rankings as Zika concerns mount

Getty Images

Jason Day remains atop the projected Olympic standings this week, but the world No. 1 has opened the door to the possibility that he might not be a part of the 60-man field this summer in Rio de Janeiro.

Speaking last week at the Memorial Tournament, Day said that concerns over the Zika virus have given him pause about heading to Brazil in August.

"Obviously it could happen to you here in the States, but I think if you are putting yourself down there, there is a chance of you getting it," Day said. "We are going to explore every avenue to make sure we make an educated decision before we go down there."

Should Day join fellow Aussies Adam Scott and Marc Leishman in skipping the Olympics, the two men in line to represent Australia would be Marcus Fraser and Matt Jones. For now, though, Day tops the field list, which will be finalized with the July 11 world rankings that will precede the Open Championship.

Here is a look at the latest field projection (note: max of two players per country unless ranked inside the top 15, when max increases to four):

1. Jason Day (AUS)

2. Jordan Spieth (USA)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Dustin Johnson (USA)

7. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

8. Danny Willett (GBR)

9. Justin Rose (GBR)

10. Branden Grace (RSA)

11. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

14. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

15. K.T. Kim (KOR)

16. Shane Lowry (IRL)

17. Danny Lee (NZL)

18. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

19. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

20. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

21. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

22. David Lingmerth (SWE)

23. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

24. Martin Kaymer (GER)

25. Jaco van Zyl (RSA)

26. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

27. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

28. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

29. Joost Luiten (NED)

30. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

31. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

32. Marcus Fraser (AUS)

33. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

34. Yuta Ikeda (JPN)

35. Alexander Levy (FRA)

36. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

37. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

38. David Hearn (CAN)

39. Haotong Li (CHN)

40. Alex Cejka (GER)

41. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

42. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

43. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

44. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

45. W.C. Liang (CHN)

46. Ryan Fox (NZL)

47. Danny Chia (MAS)

48. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

49. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

50. Camilo Villegas (COL)

51. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

52. Angelo Que (PHI)

53. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

54. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

55. Roope Kakko (FIN)

56. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

57. C.T. Pan (TPE)

58. Rodolfo Cazaubon (MEX)

59. Gavin Kyle Green (MAS)

60. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)