Skip to main content

DJ among six PGA Tour Player of the Year nominees

Getty Images

The PGA Tour has announced six candidates for the Player of the Year award, headlined by Dustin Johnson who appears to be a favorite to take home the award.

Johnson won three times this season among 15 top-10 finishes, highlighted by his major breakthrough at the U.S. Open. He became the first player since Tiger Woods in 2007 to win a major, WGC event and a playoff event in the same season, and he appeared in line to take home the FedEx Cup before a late rally from Rory McIlroy at the Tour Championship.

World No. 1 Jason Day is also a nominee, and is the only player ot match Johnson's trophy haul this season. Day won The Players Championship in addition to the Arnold Palmer Invitational and WGC-Dell Match Play, but the Aussie withdrew from each of the season's final two events because of back pain.

McIlroy is also nominated, having won two of the final three events of the season en route to the FedEx Cup title. Rounding out the list of nominees are Jordan Spieth and Adam Scott, who both won twice this year, along with Open champion and Olympic silver medalist Henrik Stenson.

The Tour also announced that Emiliano Grillo, Si Woo Kim and Smylie Kaufman are the three nominees for Rookie of the Year. All three players won during their rookie seasons, with Grillo and Kim both advancing to the season-ending Tour Championship.

The various nominees were determined by the Tour's player directors and members of the Player Advisory Council. Tour members who played in at least 15 events this past season are eligible to vote on both awards until Oct. 7, with winners announced shortly thereafter.