Skip to main content

Four Masters rookies earn spots in 2015 event

Getty Images

Jordan Spieth, Jonas Blixt, Jimmy Walker and Kevin Stadler ensured last week that their maiden trip to Augusta wouldn’t be their last.

All four players finished inside the top 12 at the 78th Masters, thus earning an invitation to next year’s event.

Spieth and Blixt, who were vying to become the first rookies to win the Masters since 1979, finished in a tie for second, three shots behind winner Bubba Watson. Walker and Stadler, meanwhile, tied for eighth in their Masters debut.

Other players who earned 2015 Masters berths who were not otherwise exempt: Miguel Angel Jimenez (fourth), Rickie Fowler (T-5), Lee Westwood (seventh), John Senden (T-8) and Thomas Bjorn (T-8).

There are several routes for players to earn a trip back to the Masters. They could win a PGA Tour event that awards at least 500 FedEx Cup points; finish in the top 4 at the next three majors; or place inside the top 50 in the Official World Ranking at the end of 2014 or two weeks before the 2015 Masters.