Skip to main content

Hearn leads Canadian Open; Day, Bubba two back

Getty Images

Canada’s David Hearn posted a 4-under 68 Saturday to take a two-shot lead into final round of the RBC Canadian Open. Here’s where things stand through 54 holes at Glen Abbey Golf Club.

Leaderboard: Hearn (-15), Jason Day (-13), Bubba Watson (-13), Brooks Koepka (-12), Michael Putnam (-12)

What it means: Hearn made five birdies before dropping his first shot since Thursday when he failed to get up and down from a greenside trap at 17. The 36-year-old Brantford, Ontario native is in search of his first PGA Tour victory after losing twice in a playoff, first at the 2013 John Deere Classic to Jordan Spieth and second at last month’s Greenbrier Classic to Danny Lee. With a victory, Hearn would become the first Canadian to win his national open since Pat Fletcher in 1954.

Round of the day: Playing his first event as a professional, Ollie Schneiderjans made eight birdies and two bogeys en route to a 6-under 66. The 22-year-old former Georgia Tech Yellow Jacket actually found himself outside the cut line late Friday before rallying to make the weekend. He’s now tied for 11th at 10 under.

Best of the rest: Six players – Camilo Villegas, Roberto Castro, Adam Hadwin, Adam Svensson, Brian Davis and Derek Fathauer - turned in 5-under 67s, but the best stretch of golf belonged to Day, who birdied six of his final seven holes after starting the back nine bogey-double bogey. A third-round 69 has him two back.

Biggest disappointment: Overnight leader Chad Campbell made one bogey and eight pars on the front nine and came totally undone with a triple bogey on the par-4 11th. His lone birdie of the day, coming at the par-5 16th, got him into the clubhouse in 3-over 75. He sits four back of Hearn.

Storyline to watch heading into Sunday: The eyes of a nation will be on Hearn, but two of the top 10 players in the world, Day and Watson, sit just two back, while world No. 23 Brooks Koepka lurks three back. All three are in search of their second win of 2015.