Ko tops A. Jutanugarn for Annika Major Award

By Randall MellSeptember 18, 2016, 10:44 pm

Lydia Ko would have liked to have played better at the Evian Championship, but she began what could be a large award collection as the season winds to a close.

Ko claimed the Rolex Annika Major Award Sunday after a T-43 finish.

Ko won the award on the strength of her victory at the season-opening ANA Inspiration, her second-place finish at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship and her tie for third at the U.S. Women’s Open. A major championship victory is worth 60 Annika points, second place 24 points, with points awarded down to two points for a 10th-place finish.

“It means a lot, especially because coming into this year my goal was to be more consistent in majors, and this is exactly the award for that,” Ko said.

Photos: Rolex Annika Major Awards Ceremony

The award, named after Hall of Famer Annika Sorenstam, goes to the player with the “most outstanding record” in the year’s five major championships.

Ko’s major championship finishes earned her 102 points, six better than runner-up Ariya Jutanugarn, who needed at least a fifth-place finish Sunday to overtake Ko. Jutanugarn tied for 9th.

Sorenstam presented the award Sunday at Evian.

“That makes it even more special, for me to stand alongside a legend like Annika,” Ko said.

Ko also leads the Rolex Player of the Year race, though her lead on Jutanugarn drops to a single point. Ko leads the competition for the Vare Trophy, which goes to the player with the low scoring average at season ends, and she leads the money-winning list.

Michelle Wie won the inaugural Annika Major Award with Inbee Park winning it last year. Here is this year’s final Annika Major Award standings:

Lydia Ko, 102

Ariya Jutanugarn, 96

In Gee Chun, 90

Brooke Henderson, 66

Brittany Lang, 60