Skip to main content

Noh penalized for playing approach off wrong green

Getty Images

PARAMUS, N.J. – Oh, Noh.

The latest installment of Pros Making Rules Snafus centered around Seung-yul Noh and a misguided attempt to play an approach shot on Friday.

After hitting a tee shot on the 11th hole – his second of the day – way right, Noh found it resting on the third green. From there, he is supposed to take free relief under Rule 25-3/b, which states:

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty.

Rather than take relief, though, Noh took a mighty lash at the ball from the putting surface, producing a large divot in the process.

He also produced a two-stroke penalty for himself. That led to a triple-bogey on the hole, but five birdies helped him post a score of 1-over 72 and still make the cut.