Skip to main content

Pace disqualified for playing damaged club

Getty Images

KILDEER, Ill. – Lee-Anne Pace slammed her sand wedge against a stake after hitting a shot at the eighth hole Friday at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship.

It later got her disqualified for violating Rule 4-3b.

The rule prohibits a player from using a club damaged other than in the normal course of play.


Full-field scores from the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship

KPMG Women’s PGA Championship: Articles, photos and videos


PGA officials said Pace did not realize she damaged the club at the hosel until she hit a shot with it at the 14th hole. She called for an official.

“She was given the option of continuing play and letting the committee have a look at the club, but she declined, because she knew she was in breach of Rule 4-3b,” the PGA said in a statement.

Pace was 5 over through eight holes in her round and overall, 6 over when she realized at the 14th that she was in violation of the rules.