Skip to main content

Rahman back in Olympic field thanks to runner-up

Getty Images

Bangladesh's Siddikur Rahman worked his way back into the top 60 in the men's Olympic golf rankings thanks to his runner-up finish this weekend at the Mauritius Open.

The result proplled the 31-year-old from 406th in the Official World Golf Ranking to 274th. Rahman is now 60 spots ahead of the final player in the field, Malaysia's Gavin Green, who also snuck back into the top 60 this week.

With Rahman and Green back in the prospective field, Mexico's Carlos Ortiz (No. 358) and Singapore's Mardan Mamat (No. 375) fell off the Olympic list. Ortiz is the next eligible player on the list behind Green.

Seprately, the race for Japan's second bid remains tight between No. 84 Yuta Ikeda and No. 85 Shingo Katayama.

The Olympics will feature a 60-man field, with a maximum of two players representing each country (that max is raised to four if all are ranked inside the top 15 in the world). The world rankings from July 11, prior to the Open Championship, will be used to determine the final field.

Here's a look at the 60 players currently in line to book a trip to Brazil:

1. Jason Day (AUS)

2. Jordan Spieth (USA)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

7. Dustin Johnson (USA)

8. Danny Willett (GBR)

9. Justin Rose (GBR)

10. Branden Grace (RSA)

11. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

12. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

13. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

14. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Danny Lee (NZL)

17. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

18. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

19. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

20. K.T. Kim (KOR)

21. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

22. David Lingmerth (SWE)

23. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

24. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

25. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

26. Jaco van Zyl (RSA)

27. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

28. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

29. Martin Kaymer (GER)

30. Joost Luiten (NED)

31. Marcus Fraser (AUS)

32. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

33. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

34. Yuta Ikeda (JPN)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

38. Alex Cejka (GER)

39. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

40. David Hearn (CAN)

41. Haotong Li (CHN)

42. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

43. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

44. Ryan Fox (NZL)

45. W.C. Liang (CHN)

46. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

47. Danny Chia (MAS)

48. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

49. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

50. Camilo Villegas (COL)

51. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

52. Angelo Que (PHI)

53. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

54. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

55. Roope Kakko (FIN)

56. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

57. Rodolfo Cazaubon (MEX)

58. C.T. Pan (TPE)

59. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)

60. Gavin Green (MAS)