Skip to main content

Records at stake in Women's PGA Championship

Getty Images

Lydia Ko, Inbee Park and Ariya Jutanugarn will all be looking to extend winning streaks at next week’s KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Sahalee Country Club in Seattle.

The top 15 players in the Rolex Women’s World Rankings and 18 of the top 20 are scheduled to play the second major championship of the year in women’s golf, according to the field list the PGA of America released Friday.

Ko is seeking to join Mickey Wright, Babe Zaharias, Pat Bradley and Inbee Park as the only women to win three or more consecutive majors in the history of the LPGA. Wright won four consecutive majors over the 1961 and ’62 seasons. Zaharias won all three majors played in 1950, Bradley won three in a row over the ’85 and ’86 seasons and Park swept the first three in 2013.

Ko won the last major of 2015 (the Evian Championship) and the first major this year (the ANA Inspiration).

Park will also be seeking to make some history trying to win the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship for a fourth consecutive year. No woman has won the same major over four consecutive years. The LPGA Championship records are carried over to the Women’s PGA Championship. Park won the LPGA Championship in 2013 and ’14 before winning the first Women’s PGA Championship last year.

Jutanugarn heads to Seattle looking to win her fourth consecutive LPGA start. Annika Sorenstam and Nancy Lopez share the LPGA record having each won five consecutive starts. Sorenstam won five in a row over the 2004 and ’05 seasons. Lopez won five in a row in 1978.