Skip to main content

Royal Lytham & St. Annes to host 2018 Women's British

Getty Images

The Ricoh Women’s British Open will return to Royal Lytham & St. Annes in 2018, the Ladies Golf Union and IMG announced Monday morning.

This will mark the fifth time Royal Lytham & St. Annes will host the Women’s British Open. Catriona Matthew (2009) won the last time the championship was staged there. Annika Sorenstam (’03) and Sherri Steinhauer (’98 and ‘06) also won there.

Royal Lytham & St. Annes also has been home to 10 men's Opens. Here’s the list of those winners: Bobby Jones (1926), Bobby Locke (’52), Peter Thomson (’58), Bob Charles (’63), Tony Jacklin (’69), Gary Player (’74), Seve Ballesteros (’79 & ’88), Tom Lehman (’96), David Duval (’01) and Ernie Els (’12).

The 2017 Ricoh Women’s British will be played at Kingsbarns in Fife, Scotland.