Skip to main content

Scott pads lead for second Aussie Olympic spot

Getty Images

Adam Scott didn't get the win at the Northern Trust Open, but he did create a little breathing room in the race to Rio de Janeiro.

Scott currently holds the second Olympic spot for Australia behind world No. 2 Jason Day. After a T-2 finish at Riviera Country Club, Scott moved up six spots to No. 13 in the world and increased his advantage for his country's final qualifying spot over Marc Leishman, who finished T-5 in Los Angeles.

Scott has been notably critical of the Olympics amid this summer's busy schedule, and it remains to be seen if he would make the trip to Brazil should he qualify. But he has begun to play well in recent weeks despite the anchored putting ban, as this marked Scott's third runner-up finish in his last seven worldwide starts.

Olympic qualification will conclude after the Open Championship in July, with each country afforded a maximum of two representatives (up to four if all are ranked inside the OWGR top 15). Here is a look at the 60 golfers who would qualify for Rio if things ended today:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Jason Day (AUS)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

7. Justin Rose (GBR)

8. Dustin Johnson (USA)

9. Branden Grace (RSA)

10. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

11. Adam Scott (AUS)

12. Danny Willett (GBR)

13. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

14. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

17. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

18. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

19. Danny Lee (NZL)

20. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

21. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

22. Martin Kaymer (GER)

23. David Lingmerth (SWE)

24. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

25. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

26. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

27. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

28. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

29. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

30. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

31. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

32. K.T. Kim (KOR)

33. Joost Luiten (NED)

34. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

37. Alexander Levy (FRA)

38. David Hearn (CAN)

39. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

40. Alex Cejka (GER)

41. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

42. W.C. Liang (CHN)

43. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

44. Ryan Fox (NZL)

45. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

46. Ashun Wu (CHN)

47. Camilo Villegas (COL)

48. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

49. Roope Kakko (FIN)

50. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

51. Angelo Que (PHI)

52. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

53. Danny Chia (MAS)

54. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

55. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

56. C.T. Pan (TPE)

57. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)

58. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

59. Rodolfo Cazaubon (MEX)

60. Adilson da Silva (BRA)