Skip to main content

Scott, Willett boost Olympic standing at Doral

Getty Images

While their positions for golf's return to the Olympics weren't exactly in doubt prior to the WGC-Cadillac Championship, Adam Scott and Danny Willett both took big steps toward punching their tickets to Rio at Trump National Doral.

Scott's second win in as many weeks moved him up to No. 6 in the standings, behind countryman Jason Day but still in strong position to qualify as Australia's second representative. Willett's T-3 result moved him up to No. 10, retaining his grip on the second British position behind Justin Rose.

Olympic qualification will continue through the Open Championship in July, when the field of 60 men will be finalized. Representation is limited to two players per country unless all (up to four players) are ranked inside the top 15.

Here's a look at the players who are currently in position to qualify for a trip to Brazil:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

3. Jason Day (AUS)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Adam Scott (AUS)

7. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

8. Justin Rose (GBR)

9. Dustin Johnson (USA)

10. Danny Willett (GBR)

11. Branden Grace (RSA)

12. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

13. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

14. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

17. Danny Lee (NZL)

18. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

19. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

20. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

21. David Lingmerth (SWE)

22. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

23. Martin Kaymer (GER)

24. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

25. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

26. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

27. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

28. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

29. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

30. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

31. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

32. K.T. Kim (KOR)

33. Joost Luiten (NED)

34. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

38. Alex Cejka (GER)

39. David Hearn (CAN)

40. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

41. Ryan Fox (NZL)

42. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

43. W.C. Liang (CHN)

44. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

45. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

46. Ashun Wu (CHN)

47. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

48. Camilo Villegas (COL)

49. Roope Kakko (FIN)

50. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

51. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

52. Angelo Que (PHI)

53. Danny Chia (MAS)

54. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

55. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

56. C.T. Pan (TPE)

57. Lin Wen-Tang (TPE)

58. Mardan Mamat (SIN)

59. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

60. Adilson da Silva (BRA)