Skip to main content

Tiger, rest of Twitter sound off on Lexi penalty

Getty Images

Lexi Thompson was assessed a 4-shot penalty during the final round of the ANA Inspiration for marking a ball incorrectly and signing an incorrect scorecard on Day 3 of the event after a viewer made the rules officials aware of the incident via email.

Here is video of the infraction, which cost Thompson the lead and eventually the win:

The golf community was none too pleased with the ruling, and sounded off on Twitter moments after it happened, starting with Tiger Woods.