Skip to main content

Women's NCAA winners to receive LPGA exemptions

Getty Images

Two winners from next month's NCAA Women's Golf Championships will receive exemptions into the Marathon LPGA Classic later this year.

The first exemption will go to the individual winner, who will be crowned May 25 after 72 holes of stroke play at Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. Upon the conclusion of stroke play, the top eight teams will advance to match play and when a team national champion is decided on May 27, a representative from the winning team will be chosen to receive the second exemption.

This year marks the first time since 1997 that the women's NCAA championship is covered live on television, with Golf Channel airing both the final round of stroke play and each round of match play. Concession will also play host to the NCAA Men's Golf Championships the following week, with both an individual and team national champion crowned live on Golf Channel.

The Marathon LPGA Classic will be held July 16-19 in Toledo, Ohio. Last year Lydia Ko rallied for a one-shot victory over So-Yeon Ryu.