Skip to main content

You Oughta Know: Farmers Insurance Open

Getty Images

SAN DIEGO – While the tournament is now missing its two biggest stars, the show must go on at the Farmers Insurance Open. Here’s what You Oughta Know heading into the final round at Torrey Pines, where Gary Woodland clings to a one-shot lead:

• Woodland is in search of his third career PGA Tour title, having won the 2011 Valspar Championship and the 2012 Reno-Tahoe Open. He's already had one close call this season, when he lost in a playoff to Ryan Moore at the CIMB Classic in Malaysia.

• This is the third time that Woodland has held a 54-hole lead on Tour, though he has yet to convert. He was tied for the lead at the 2011 Humana Challenge but lost in a playoff to Jhonattan Vegas, and shared the lead at The Barclays last season before finishing in a tie for second behind Adam Scott.

• At age 29, Woodland is looking to continue the youth movement sweeping the PGA Tour. Should he or second-place Jordan Spieth win on Sunday, it would mean six out of the first 10 events of the 2013-14 season were won by players in their 20s.

• Should Spieth hoist the trophy, he’ll become the youngest player with two PGA Tour victories to his credit. Spieth will be 20 years, 5 months and 30 days old on Sunday, which would surpass the record of Tiger Woods, who won his second event at the 1996 Walt Disney World Classic at age 20 years, 9 months and 20 days. Spieth would also become the youngest Farmers winner ever, eclipsing the mark of Phil Mickelson, who won in 1993 at 22 years, 8 months and five days old.

• Just one shot off the pace, Australia’s Marc Leishman is hoping to put an end to the American stranglehold on this event. Only two international players have ever won this tournament: Gary Player (1963) and Jose Maria Olazabal (2002). Leishman is no stranger to leaderboards at Torrey Pines, as his five previous starts have netted a pair of top-10 finishes, including a T-2 in 2010.

• Each of the top three names on the leaderboard has won before on Tour, which is in line with the event history here at Torrey Pines. The last player to make this tournament his first career win was Jay Don Blake, who won in 1991. At T-4, Morgan Hoffmann enters the final round highest in the standings among those who have yet to win.