Skip to main content

Fighting Illini Win Marshall Invitational

Courtesy of
College CentralHUNTINGTON, W.Va. - While cold and windy weather made for difficult course conditions and higher scores, the adverse weather was not enough to slow down the Illini as Illinois protected its lead to win the tournament title at the 34th annual Marshall Invitational, held at the par 71, 6,446-yard Guyan Golf and Country Club in Huntington, W.Va. The Illini recorded a final-round score of 295 today to win the 16-team tournament with a 54-hole total score of 1-under par 851, tying the fifth-best three-round score in school history. The Illini finished 22 strokes ahead of its closest competitors, Kentucky and Indiana, who tied for runner-up at 873.
This marks the third tournament that Illinois has won this year, joining UI victories at the Northern Intercollegiate and Nestle Purina Classic last fall.
Illini dominated the tournament with four UI golfers finishing in the Top Six of the individual standings. Freshman star Patrick Nagle and junior Ryan Tendall led the Illini effort, tying for third place in the 84-player field with each golfer shooting even-par scores of 213. Nagle carded rounds of 72-67-74 while Tendall fired scores of 70-67-76. This marks the first Top 10 finish of Tendall's career, while the rookie Nagle has now recorded six Top 10 finishes in eight tournaments this season.
Sophomore sensation James Lepp and fellow sophomore Garrett Chaussard both tied for sixth place at 1-over par 214. Lepp shot 73-69-72 and Chaussard tallied 71-70-73. Lepp now has five Top 10 finishes in six tournaments this season while Chaussard's sixth place showing is his highest finish of the year.
Senior Geoff Lound tied for 15th place with a score of 6-over par 219. Junior Ryan Moore also competed in the tournament, participating as an individual and tying for 51st place (228).
Illinois is back in action next weekend, traveling to Columbus, Ohio April 12-13 for the Robert Kepler Intercollegiate.
Final Team Standings
1. ILLINOIS 283-273-295=851
T2. Kentucky 292-286-295=873
T2. Indiana 288-286-299=873
4. Louisville 295-289-290=874
5. Toledo 289-296-297=882
T6. Miami-Ohio 291-287-306=884
T6. Ball State 289-285-310=884
T6. Eastern Kentucky 292-291-301=884
9. Ohio State 289-297-299=885
10. Akron 298-288-301=887
11. Iowa 298-293-300=891
12. Marshall 296-288-313=897
13. Xavier 300-303-300=903
T14. Ohio 300-302-303=905
T14. Eastern Michigan 302-295-308=905
16. Bowling Green 293-296-319=908