Skip to main content

Kent State Captures FirstEnergy Collegiate

Courtesy of Kent
College CentralRAVEENA, Ohio -- The Kent State University mens golf team won its second tournament of the 2002-03 season, this time it was their home event, the FirstEnergy Collegiate. The Golden Flashes took the crown for 11th time in school history with a blistering final round of 278. Kent State finished ahead of Miami University by 18 strokes and third-place Wright State University by 20 shots. The University of Toledos Brad Heaven defeated Kent State sophomore Peter Laws (Mississauga, Ontario/Our Lady of Mount Carmel) with a par on the first playoff hole to take the individual crown.
Kent State received outstanding performances from Laws (69-70-71=210) and freshman Ryan Yip (Calgary, Alberta/Bishop Carroll), who fired a final-round 67 even though suffering through a bad back. Kent State also counted even-par 70s from junior Chris Miller (New Philadelphia, Ohio/New Philadelphia) and sophomore Joe Hurtuk (Bedford, Ohio/St. Peter Chanel) to miss the single-round scoring record by only two shots.
Laws started out three-over par on the first two holes, but rebounded with a birdie on three. A bogey on four put him two strokes behind Heaven after four holes. A bogey on nine by Heaven cut the lead to one heading to the back nine. Heaven bogeyed 10, but birdies on 11 and 12 put him up two strokes. Laws cut the lead to one with birdies on 13 and 15 after Heaven birdied 14. The two would tie after Laws birdied the par-5 16th and Heaven would par out. The two would go to a playoff on the first hole. Laws hit his drive left, almost going into the pond while Heavens drive was center cut. Laws hit his approach to a shorter distance, but was straight downhill, while Heaven had a left to right break. Heaven hit his lag to three feet, while Laws went by about four feet. Laws putt was pulled while Heaven made his and picked up his second victory in as many weeks.
Yip finished in fourth place after shooting the days best round of 67. Yip didnt birdie a hole until the ninth, but then birdied 11, 16 and 17 while bogeying 18. This is his second straight week in the top five, as he tied for fourth place at the Kepler Intercollegiate last weekend. Miller tied for 11th place after being back in the lineup. He shot rounds of 74-73-70=217. Hurtuk tied for 26th place with scores of 76-76-70=222. Sophomore Steve Lohmeyer (Dayton, Ohio/Oakwood) also tied for 26th place with scores of 74-73-75=222.
The Golden Flashes have six players competing as individuals and senior Scott Vallina (Langeloth, Pa./Burgettstown) led the way with a tie for 32nd place after scores of 75-75-73=223. Junior Sean Howell (Erie, Pa./McDowell) tied for 39th place with scores of 73-74-79=226. Freshman J.D. Schonhoft (Canton, Ohio/Central Catholic) tied for 61st place with rounds of 78-79-75=232. Freshman Joe Meglen (Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) tied for 66th place with scores of 78-77-80=235. Sophomore Matt Boumphrey (Chagrin Falls, Ohio/West Geauga) finished in 70th place firing rounds of 80-79-78=237 while sophomore Jake DeHart (Franklin, Ohio/Franklin) tied for 72nd place with scores of 83-77-79=239.
The Golden Flashes will next play at the Bruce Fossum Invitational April 26-27, in East Lansing, Mich.
Team Standings
1. KENT STATE 291-288-278=857
2. Miami 292-285-298=875
3. Wright State 297-293-287=877
4. Penn State 300-289-289=878
5. Toledo 293-290-296=879
6. Eastern Kentucky 301-289-293=883
7. Xavier 290-290-304=884
8. Eastern Michigan 294-297-301=892
9. Akron 302-294-298=894
10. Northern Illinois 309-293-295=897
11. Ball State 293-302-305=900
12. Bowling Green 293-304-308=905
13. Ohio 304-299-304=907
14. Marshall 303-303-310=916
15. Manitoba 314-324-318=956
Top-10 Individuals plus KSU
1. Brad Heaven (Toledo) 70-69-71=210*
2. Peter Laws (KSU) 69-70-71=210
3. Brandon Brown (EKU) 73-70-69=212
4. Ryan Yip (KSU) 74-72-67=213
t-5. John Schones (WSU) 73-71-71=215
t-5. Brad Pemberton (EMU) 72-72-71=215
t-5. P. Wilkes-Keier (BSU) 69-70-76=215
t-8. Jim Fuller (PSU) 74-70-72=216
t-8. Korey Mahoney (EMU) 70-73-73=216
t-8. Ted Neville (PSU) 74-70-72=216
t-11. Chris Miller 74-73-70=217
t-26. Joe Hurtuk 76-76-70=222
t-26. Steve Lohmeyer 74-73-75=222
t-32. Scott Vallina 75-75-73=223
t-39. Sean Howell 73-74-79=226
t-61. J.D. Schonhoft 78-79-75=232
t-66. Joe Meglen 78-77-80=235
70. Matthew Boumphrey 80-79-78=237
t-72. Jake DeHart 83-77-79=239
*won in playoff