Skip to main content

Kent State Claims MAC Championship

Courtesy of
College CentralThe Kent State University womens golf team claimed its fifth consecutive Mid-American Conference championship Sunday at Walden Ponds Golf Course in Hamilton, Ohio, dominating the field for a 37-stroke victory.
The Golden Flashes shot a 302 in the final round for a three-round total of 888 and now have won the league title in each of the programs five years of existence, including the last four at Walden Ponds. Eastern Michigan University finished second with a 925, while the University of Toledo was third at 930.
Senior Veronique Drouin captured medalist honors with a 3-over-par 219 and was named MAC Golfer of the Year as Kent State golfers swept the top three spots. She shot 71-74-74 for the tournament. With Drouins performance, KSU golfers have won all five MAC Championships dating to the first in 1999 and have been selected the leagues top performer each of the last four years.
Junior Martina Gillen, the 2001 and 02 MAC Golfer of the Year and MAC Championships medalist, was this years runner-up at the league meet. She fired a final-round 77 for a 223 total, four strokes behind Drouin. Sophomore Gabby Wedding (Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington) placed third with rounds of 76-71-77=224, while freshman Becky Wood (Derbyshire, England/Glossopdale C.C.) tied for fifth with 75-76-74=225. Freshman Katie Williams (Cambridge, Ontario/Galt Collegiate) rounded out the Kent State lineup in a tie for 10th with 73-81-79=233.
Drouin, Gillen and Wedding claimed three of the five spots on the All-MAC First Team as voted upon by the leagues nine head coaches. They were joined on the first team by Erica Bieniek of Western Michigan University and Heather Nolan of Eastern Michigan, who also was selected the MAC Freshman of the Year. Wood was one of five players named to the All-MAC Second Team. Drouin and Gillen each were named to the first team for the third straight season, while Wedding earned her second straight honor.
Kent State head coach Mike Morrow was voted the MAC Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive season.
The Golden Flashes now advance to the NCAA Central Regional May 8-10 at Firethorn Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb.

2003 MAC Womens Golf Championships
Final Team Standings

1. Kent State 292-294-302=888
2. Eastern Michigan 309-317-299=925
3. Toledo 312-312-306=930
4. Ohio 390-326-309=944
5. Western Michigan 315-315-316=946
6. Bowling Green 307-332-320=959
7. Ball State 323-323-326=927
8. Marshall 328-359-329=1016
9. Northern Illinois 340-354-362=1056
Final Individual Leaders
1. Veronique Drouin (KSU) 71-74-74=219
2. Martina Gillen (KSU) 73-73-77=223
3. Gabby Wedding (KSU) 76-71-77=224
4. Heather Nolan (EMU) 73-76-76=225
Becky Wood (KSU) 75-76-74=225