Skip to main content

Kent State Claims MAC Championship

Courtesy of
College CentralSUGAR GROVE, Ill -- The Kent State University mens golf team won its 14th Mid-American Conference (MAC) Championships in school history with a two-stroke victory over Miami University May 3 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. The Golden Flashes also won its 11th title under head coach Herb Page and its 11th title in the last 13 years. It was the closest finish since the 1957 championships, not counting the tie in 1992.
The action was back-and-forth between the Golden Flashes and RedHawks. Sophomore Peter Laws (Mississauga, Ontario/Our Lady of Mount Carmel) had a huge birdie putt on 18 to give the Golden Flashes a two-stroke advantage.
Sophomore Joe Hurtuks (Bedford, Ohio/St. Peter Chanel) par on the 18th sealed the victory for Kent State. Laws finished in a tie for third place with rounds of 79-76-68-69. This follows Laws 66 in last years final round. Sophomore Steve Lohmeyer (Dayton, Ohio/Oakwood) also shot a 69 in the final round and had rounds of 78-73-72-69=292 and tied for third place. Lohmeyer also went deep last year with a 65. Hurtuk tied for seventh with scores of 73-75-74-75=297.
Junior Chris Miller (New Philadelphia, Ohio/New Philadelphia) tied for 14th place with scores of 75-74-76-75=300. Freshman Ryan Yip (Calgary, Alberta/Bishop Carroll) tied for 19th place with scores of 72-77-79-76=304. Miamis Mark Weghorst won the individual title with a 290 total.

The Golden Flashes collected numerous postseason honors following the tournament. Page was named MAC Coach of the Year for the 11th time, while Laws and Yip were each named to the All-MAC First Team. Hurtuk was selected to the All-MAC Second Team, while Yip also earned MAC Freshman of the Year honors.
Team Scores
1. KENT STATE 298-298-290-288=1174
2. Miami 305-292-286-293=1176
3. Toledo 298-304-287-298=1187
4. Ball State 307-303-287-311=1208
5. Eastern Michigan 310-316-294-292=1212
6. Akron 325-295-298-312=1230
7. Ohio 323-306-301-308=1238
8. Bowling Green 314-309-304-313=1240
9. Northern Illinois 322-312-305-305=1244
10. Marshall 322-311-311-316=1260