Skip to main content

NGCA Announces Division 1 Award Winners

College CentralCHICAGO, Illinois -- The National Golf Coaches Association recently announced the year-end student-athlete and coaches awards for Division I Womens College Golf. Winners were recognized at the NGCA Awards Banquets held in West Lafayette, Indiana on Friday evening, May 23 immediately following the conclusion of the Division I Championship.
2003 NGCA Division II Player of the Year
Katherine Hull ' Pepperdine University
2003 Golfstat Cup
Erica Blasberg ' University of Arizona
2003 Dinah Shore Trophy Award
Katherine Hull ' Pepperdine University
2003 Edith Cummings Munson Golf Award
Alena Sharp ' New Mexico State University
2003 NGCA Division I Softspikes Freshman of the Year
Erica Blasberg ' University of Arizona
2002 NGCA Division II District Coaches of the Year
East Region: Sue Bower, Tulane University
Central Region: Amy Weeks, Oklahoma State University
West Region: Laurie Gibbs, Pepperdine University; Nancy McDaniel, University of California Berkeley (co-recipients)
2002 NGCA Division II National Coach of the Year
Nancy McDaniel ' University of California Berkeley

2003 NGCA Division II All-American Teams
1st Team
Erica Blasberg, University of Arizona
Karen Dennison, Indiana University
Katherine Hull, Pepperdine University
Elizabeth Janangelo, Duke University
Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA
Kristy McPherson, University of South Carolina
Virada Nirapathpongporn, Duke University
Mikaela Parmlid, USC
Sarah Sasse, University of Nebraska
Alena Sharp, New Mexico State University
Lindsey Wright, Pepperdine University
2nd Team
Nuria Clau, Wake Forest University
Katie Futcher, Penn State University
Allison Hanna, Ohio State University
Brandi Jackson, Furman University
Vikki Laing, University of California Berkeley
Jessica Reese, University of Texas
Violeta Retamoza, University of Tennessee
Celeste Troche, Auburn University
Kristen White, Ohio State University
Honorable Mention
Aimee Cho, University of Florida
Irene Cho, USC
Danielle Downey, Auburn University
Kailin Downs, University of New Mexico
Leigh Anne Hardin, Duke University
Sarah Huarte, University of California Berkeley
Lindsay Morgan, University of Washington
Sunny Oh, UNLV
Janice Olivencia, University of Texas
Ashley Prange, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Karin Sjodin, Oklahoma State University
Kristin Tamulis, Florida State University
Annie Thurman, Oklahoma State University
Andrea Vander Lende, University of Florida
Kim Welch, Washington State University
Linda Wessberg, Oklahoma State University
Courtney Wood, Vanderbilt University

The National Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The NGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the NGCA represents over 325 programs throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.