Skip to main content

Rollins Rolls to Division II National Title

Courtesy of
College CentralHOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS, Fla. -- The Rollins College women's golf team fired their best round of the four-day tournament, a 305, to finish 39 strokes ahead of runner-up Florida Southern and claim the 2003 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship. Freshman Charlotte Campbell (Lake Highland Prep) fired a final round score of 2-under par 71 to claim the individual national championship by four strokes. Her four round score of 299 (78-74-76-71) established a new Division II record for the lowest total by the individual champion.
The Tars finished the four round tournament with a team total of 1,237 (315-307-310-305), compared with a score of 1,276 (325-326-313-312) for Florida Southern. The victory by Rollins ended the Mocs three year reign as Division II team champion. Northern Colorado finished third with a score of 1,312 (322-339-331-320).
Rollins took control of the tournament in the first two days as they held a seven stroke lead over Northern Colorado after the first day and led second place Florida Southern by 29 strokes after the first two rounds.
Campbell, who was named the NCAA Division II National Player of the Year earlier in the week, matched the NCAA Division II tournament record for the lowest individual round with her 2-under par 71. She had four birdies and only two bogeys during the final round. She had entered the final round trailing Pamela Feggans of Florida Southern and Freddie Seeholzer of Rollins by one stroke in the battle for the individual championship. Feggans had a final round 76 to finish with a score of 303 (80-76-71-76) for the tournament. Seeholzer shot a final round score of 80 to finish tied with Emily Russell of Northern Colorado for third place at 307 (78-74-75-80).
Mariana De Biase of Rollins fired a final round score of 74 to finish in eighth position at 314 (81-80-79-74). Sabrina Gassner finished in 12th position at 322 (78-79-82-83). Jennifer Beames, the only senior on the Rollins team, overcame a tough first round to finish tied for 17th position at 330 (89-81-80-80).
The championship is the eighth in the history of women's golf at Rollins, but the first since the NCAA began sponsoring the championship in 1996. Since that time, Rollins had finished second three times (1996, 2000 and 2001). The last two second-place finishes had come at the hands of Florida Southern. When sponsored by the AIAW and then the NCGA, Rollins won the championship in 1948, 1950, 1956, 1974, 1991, 1992 and 1994.
This is the 17th national championship in the history of intercollegiate athletics at Rollins college and the seventh NCAA Championship. In addition to NCAA Championships by men's tennis (four times), men's golf (twice) and now women's golf, Rollins has won three National Collegiate Waterski Championships and claimed seven women's golf championships before the event was sponsored by the NCAA.
Earlier in the week, Campbell was named the NCAA Division II 'Freshman of the Year' as well as the 'Player of the Year.' Head Coach Julie Garner was named the Division II National 'Coach of the Year.' Campbell, Jennifer Beames and Mariana De Biase were honored as first team All-Americans, while Freddie Seeholzer was a second team All-America selection.

Mission Inn Resort
El Campeon Course
Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.
Saturday, May 17, 2003
par 73, 5982 yards
1 Rollins College 315 307 310 305 1237 +692
Florida Southern 325 326 313 312 1276 +1083
Northern Colorado 322 339 331 320 1312 +1444
Grand Valley State 332 332 332 325 1321 +1535
Longwood University 336 343 318 327 1324 +1566
St. Mary's U. (TX) 341 332 331 331 1335 +1677
Minnesota State Univ 335 337 323 342 1337 +1698
N'eastern OK State U 350 355 335 337 1377 +209
1 Charlotte Campbell Rollins 78 74 76 71 299 +7
2 Pamela Feggans Fl. South. 80 76 71 76 303 +11
3 Emily Russell N Colorado 76 79 78 74 307 +15