Skip to main content

Rules to Play By Oh Brother

Editor's note: Ray Herzog, a rules expert from the San Diego Golf Academy in Orlando, Fla., will be presiding over cases presented by you the reader. Please submit your on-course dispute and let Rules Judge Ray settle it.
Case presented by Rick Campbell:
My brother wore the SWING GLOVE that Rick Smith sells. After the match I told him he was DQ'd for using a training aid. He said it wasn't. Am I right or wrong? I have a big grudge match coming up with him next week. Thank You.
I read your question and thought it was very important to give you the correct answer. Having an older brother myself, I know how important every match is. Congratulations, you are officially 1 up in the win column. Based on the fact that your brother used an artificial device that might assist him in making a stroke, he was disqualified as soon as he used it during the round.
If he is anything like my brother, he will not go down without a fight. Have him look up rule 14-3b, Artificial Devices and Unusual Equipment; it is right there. Then point out the sentence in red, right below the rule -- PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 14-3: Disqualification.
Any other questions I can help you with, dont hesitate to send it in. I am always here to keep a good sibling rivalry going.
-- Ray
Case presented by Tommy Williams:
We were playing a stroke-play tournament. (My) fellow competitor hit a ball towards a lateral hazard that had no water but (was) marked as such. The hazard extended down the whole hole on our right side. The area had some trees down the same side but no high grasses or rough. The hole slightly 'dogged ' to the right which blocked the view from the tee. He stated he wanted to hit a provisional ball. I told him he could not do so because the ball could not be lost, as there was no place for the ball to be except in the 'dry' lateral hazard or in play. Then, before he hit his ball, the group in front of us indicated by waving their hands that the ball was in the hazard and had found it for him. He played a provisional ball anyway. Moving to both balls, the provisional ball was picked up and the original ball was played from the dry hazard and my competitor made a par with (the) ball from the hazard. What is the ruling?
Your fellow competitor made a number of mistakes. I will list them in order:
1) When he played a provisional ball when his original ball was in a water hazard he did not follow the correct procedure for a provisional ball. He was not permitted to hit a provisional in this situation. As soon as he teed up another ball and hit it, the second ball is now the ball in play.
2) When he drove up the fairway and picked up what he thought was his provisional, he received a one-stroke penalty under 18-2a. He is now required to replace the ball on the spot from which it was moved.
3) When he played the original ball after it was out of play, he played a wrong ball. The interesting thing is he would not be immediately penalized. There is no penalty if a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball in a hazard. So he would not be penalized for hitting the ball out of the hazard, but as soon as he putted the ball on the green, he would then be penalized. The penalty is two strokes and you have to correct your mistake before you tee off the next hole. He should have gone back to the spot where he picked up his second drive, and replaced the ball.
4) When he did not correct the wrong ball, as soon as he teed off the next tee, he would be disqualified. He holed out with the wrong ball and did not correct the error.
He definitely made a mess of that hole.
Thanks for the questions,
Email your on-course rules dispute to Rules Judge Ray