Skip to main content

Cabrera Hoping for Historic Defense

Angel Cabrera will attempt to create a unique place in golf's record books when he defends his Benson and Hedges International Open title at The De Vere Belfry this week.
With this being the 33rd and final Benson and Hedges International Open, the 33 year old Argentine has the chance to become the only man in history to win the prestigious event in consecutive seasons.
Three players, Bernhard Langer, Graham Marsh and Jos Maria Olazbal, have won twice but never back-to-back and Cabrera, who finished 11th on the 2002 Volvo Order of Merit thanks in part to his one shot victory last year, admitted he was aware of the enormity of the task.
'I hope to be the first player to retain the title in consecutive years, but I know with a strong field I will have to play well,' he said. 'It was very valuable to win here last year in one of the best tournaments in Europe and where there was a strong Ryder Cup field. I am very happy to be returning to The De Vere Belfry as it holds special memories for me.'
As well as Cabrera's thrilling success, where he held off determined challenges from Michael Campbell, Padraig Harrington, Barry Lane and Colin Montgomerie to win, another highlight at The De Vere Belfry last year was, of course, the Ryder Cup victory.
Returning to the scene of their memorable 15 - 12 success over the Americans will be ten members of the European Team, Thomas Bjrn, Darren Clarke, Niclas Fasth, Pierre Fulke, Harrington, Bernhard Langer, Paul McGinley, Montgomerie, Phillip Price and Lee Westwood, alongside Captain Sam Torrance and Vice Captain Ian Woosnam.
The tournament, which carries prize money of $1.8 million, is preceded by the traditional Celebrity Pro-Am on Wednesday May 7, which will feature stars from the world of showbusiness and sport playing alongside the leading professional golfers.
Plus, to celebrate the final tournament, Benson and Hedges are delighted to welcome back several past Champions for a five-hole competition on Tuesday May 6. Already confirmed is the inaugural champion Tony Jacklin along with Seve Ballesteros, Antonio Garrido, Sandy Lyle, Jack Newton and Torrance.