Skip to main content

Champions Tour Picks Up in Florida

The Champions Tour resumes play following a three-week hiatus. The 50-and-over set travels to Milton, Fla., for the Emerald Coast Classic at the par-70 The Moors Golf Club.
It seems like old times on the tours money list. Gil Morgan ($462,000) currently leads Hale Irwin by less than $6,000. The two rivaled for tour supremacy in the late 90s. Neither, however, has won in 2003, in six starts apiece.
There have been seven different winners thus far this season, with Australias Roger Davis the most recent, in the Toshiba Classic.
While the PGA Tour has produced only one first-time winner this year ' after 18 a year ago ' the elder circuit already has four.
Davis, David Eger, Dave Barr and Tom Purtzer have all made their maiden triumphs in 03.
This is the ninth playing of this event, and dont be surprised if it doesn't goes the scheduled 54 holes. Dave Eichelberger, the 36-hole leader, won last year when the final round was washed-out. The inaugural event was also reduced to 36 holes. Raymond Floyd won in 1995 in a playoff over Tom Wargo.
That was the first of four extra sessions. In fact, the first three tournaments required sudden death.
No player has ever won this event twice, let alone successfully defended his title. Morgan has come the closest, losing to Isao Aoki in a playoff in 1997, and winning over Larry Nelson in regulation in 2000.
Related Links
  • Champions Tour Statistical Preview
  • Full coverage of the Emerald Coast Classic