Skip to main content

France to Host Whos Who of European Golf

Retief Goosen, Colin Montgomerie, Jose Maria Olazabal, and Malcolm Mackenzie.
A virtual 'who's who' in European Tour golf.
Wait a second, Malcolm Mackenzie? 'Who's who?' Maybe more like 'who's he?'
Well, the man from England, who is in his 21st consecutive season on the European Tour, is actually the defending champion at this week's playing of the Open de France in Paris.
Goosen, Monty and Olazabal also happen to be former champions of this event, each taking home the title in 1999, 2000 and 2001, respectively.
Though Goosen and Monty will not be returning to the field, Mackenzie and Olazabal are set to tee it up against the likes of Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Trevor Immelman and Thomas Bjorn.
Mackenzie's one shot victory over Immelman in last year's tournament broke the all-time European Tour record for most events played before capturing a maiden victory. It was Englishman's 509th event, dating back to his rookie year in 1981.
Mackenzie's 200-yard 2-iron at the 18th set up a two-putt birdie that ended the longest of droughts.
It feels wonderful, said the obviously elated Mackenzie. 'Just dont give in.
Other past champions include Nick Faldo, Seve Ballesteros and Greg Norman.
Winner of this past week's Diageo Championship, Soren Kjeldsen, will be looking to make it two in a row after his two stroke win in Scotland.
One of the oldest tournaments on the European Tour, dating back to 1906, the event is played at the picturesque Le Golf National and offers the winner a $480,069 check from the $2,880,461 total purse.
Related Links
  • Full coverage of the Open de France
  • More European Tour Event Preview Information