Skip to main content

Furyk Becomes 40th Player Not Going Down Under

The hits just keep on coming for next week's Accenture World Match Play. World No.15 Jim Furyk has withdrawn bringing the total of eligible players not playing to 40. Furyk was the No. 6 seed.
Greg Kraft replaces Furyk becoming the latest alternate to slide into the 64-man event to be held at the Metropolitan Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia. Australian Peter O'Malley is the next alternate on the list.
The official draw will be released Monday at 5pm Australian time. Any withdrawals after that will not be replaced giving their first round opponent a bye.
The rash of no-shows has been blamed on the early January date of the tournament. Only four of the top-10 in the world are in the field, led by No.2 Ernie Els. Els will now face Kraft in the first round barring any more withdrawals.
Swede Jarmo Sandelin withdrew Thursday to witness the birth of his first child, letting Aussie Nick O'Hern into the mix.
Here is the latest look at the constantly changing first round draw:
Upper Bracket
Ernie Els (1) vs. Greg Kraft (64)
Hidemichi Tanaka (31) vs. Bernhard Langer (33)
Duffy Waldorf (16) vs. Jean Van De Velde (49)
Retief Goosen (17) vs. Steve Lowery (48)
John Huston (8)vs. Craig Stadler (57)
Dennis Paulson (25)vs. Craig Parry (40)
David Toms (9)vs. Hirofumi Miyase (56)
Phillip Price (24)vs. Andrew Coltart (41)
Tom Lehman (4)vs. Greg Chalmers (61)
Joe Ozaki (29)vs. Jeff Sluman (36)
Chris Perry (13)vs. Jonathan Kaye (52)
Jose Coceres (20)vs. Brad Faxon (45)
Michael Campbell (5)vs. Mathias Gronberg (60)
Toshi Izawa (28)vs. Steve Pate (37)
Kirk Triplett (12)vs.Glen Day (53)
Pierre Fulke (21)vs. Fred Funk (44)
Lower Bracket
Hal Sutton (2)vs. Nick O'Hern (63)
Franklin Langham (31)vs. Tim Herron (34)
Robert Allenby (15)vs. Nobuhito Sato (50)
Dudley Hart (18)vs. Skip Kendall (47)
Justin Leonard (7)vs. Patrik Sjoland (58)
Gary Orr (26)vs. Paul McGinley (39)
Padraig Harrington (10)vs. Steve Stricker (55)
Scott Verplank (23)vs. Brent Geiberger (42)
Vijay Singh (3)vs. Kevin Sutherland (62)
Toru Taniguchi (30)vs. Bob Estes (35)
Stuart Appleby (14)vs.Kenny Perry (51)
Steve Flesch (19)vs. Per-Ulrik Johansson (46)
Stewart Cink (6)vs. Mark McNulty (59)
Paul Lawrie (27)vs. Chris DiMarco (38)
Bob May (11)vs. Tom Scherrer (54)
Shigeki Maruyama (22)vs. Scott Dunlap (43)