Skip to main content

Heppler Trahan Win NCAAs Top Awards

NORMAN, Okla. - Georgia Tech's Bruce Heppler was honored by the Golf Coaches Association of America as National Coach of the Year. Hepler's Yellow Jackets posted seven tournament victories and were ranked No.1 in every regular-season coaches polls conducted by the GCAA. Georgia Tech finished second at the NCAA Championships.
One of Heppler's star players, Troy Matteson, won the Arnold Palmer Award given to the NCAA medalist. Matteson, a junior from Austin, Texas, posted a one-stroke win at nationals.
Clemson's D.J. Trahan picked up the Jack Nicklaus Award, presented to the nation's top golfer. Trahan, a junior from Inman, S.C., was named first team PING All-America and ACC Player of the Year. Trahan also won the 2002 Ben Hogan Award, presented to the top collegiate and amateur player over the course of a 12-month period.
Tennessee's David Skinns won the Softspikes Freshman of the Year award. Skinns posted six top-10s this season, including a win at the Cleveland Golf / Augusta State Invitational.
The GCAA also announced the PING All-America teams:
First Team
Bill Haas,Wake Forest
Ryan Hybl,Georgia
Hunter Mahan,Oklahoma State
Troy Matteson,Georgia Tech
Graeme McDowell,UAB
D.J. Trahan,Clemson
Camilo Villegas,Florida
Nick Watney,Fresno State
Lee Williamson,Purdue
Oliver Wilson,Augusta State
Second Team
Dustin Bray, North Carolina
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Kevin Haefner, Auburn
Gregg Jones, Clemson
John Klauk, Texas
Brock Mackenzie, Washington
Kris Mikkelsen, Georgia Tech
David Skinns, Tennessee
Brandt Snedeker, Vanderbilt
Kevin Stadler, Southern California
Third Team
Jason Allred, Pepperdine
Bret Guetz, TCU
Jason Hartwick, Texas
John Holmes, Kentucky
John Kidwell, Oklahoma
Eric Jorgensen, Michigan State
Justin Smith, Minnesota
Johnson Wagner, Virginia Tech
Justin Walters, N.C. State
Matt Weibring, Georgia Tech
Honorable Mention
Matt Anderson, Minnesota; Ricky Barnes, Arizona; Michael Beard, Pepperdine; Camilo Benedetti, Florida; Ramon Bescansa, North Carolina; Jonathan Echols, Fresno State; Cody Freeman, Oklahoma; Scott Hailes, New Mexico; Matt Hansen, Pacific; Franklin Hatchett, SMU; Brad Heaven, Toledo; Anders Hultman, Oklahoma State; Shiv Kapur, Purdue; James Lepp, Illinois; Chris Marshall, Kansas; Jamie McLeary, Baylor; David Miller, Georgia; Ryan Moore, UNLV; Garth Mullroy, N.C. State; Chris Nallen, Arizona; Par Nilsson, Oklahoma State; Phil Rowe, Stanford; Adam Rubinson, TCU; Andy Smith, SE Louisiana; Nick Thompson, Georgia Tech; J.J. Wall, Texas; Lee Williams, Auburn; Chan Wongluekiet, Georgia Tech
More Golf Headlines