Skip to main content

Lady Bruins Win Pac-10 Title

Courtesy of
College CentralThe second-ranked UCLA women's golf team, led by junior Charlotte Mayorkas, won the Pac-10 Championships by 18 shots at the Saticoy Country Club in Somis, Calif.
'I'm so proud of our team,' said Head Coach Carrie Forsyth, who was voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the second time in five years. 'We came prepared for this event and it was our goal to win it.
The Bruins posted a team score of 297, 9-over par, and finished with a 54-hole score of 902. They beat second-place California by 18 shots. Arizona finished third at 923, followed by USC and Arizona State in a tie for fourth at 928. In sixth place was Washington at 930, followed by Stanford at 932 and Oregon at 947. Washington State finished ninth at 964 and Oregon State was 10th at 989.

In addition to winning its first conference championship since the 1991 season, UCLA produced its first individual medalist in 13 years in Mayorkas.
'We're all very proud of Charlotte,' said Forsyth. 'She has worked extremely hard with the goal of winning this tournament.'
Mayorkas won her fifth career individual title and fourth in her last five events with a two-over par score of 218. She posted a final round score of 73 and edged teammate Hannah Jun, a freshman, by two shots. Jun shot a 75 on Wednesday.
In other UCLA scoring, sophomore Susie Mathews finished 11th at 230 after posting a final round score of 74. Seniors Gina Umeck and Krystal Shearer tied for 21st and 28th ,respectively. In the final round, Umeck posted at 75 and Shearer shot a 77. Senior Bridget Dwyer, playing as an individual, posted a score of 77 on Wednesday and tied for 21st.
Following are the 2004 All-Pac-10 Teams teams:
Coach of the Year: Carrie Forsyth, UCLA
Player of the Year: Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA
Newcomer of the Year: Hannah Jun, UCLA
First Team All-Pac-10: Erica Blasberg, Arizona; Irene Cho, USC; Sarah Huarte, Cal; Paige Mackenzie, Washington; Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA; Kim Welch, WSU.
Second Team All Pac-10: Veronica Felibert, USC; Hannah Jun, UCLA; Sung Ea Lee, Washington; Susie Mathews, UCLA; Krystal Shearer, UCLA; Sophia Sheridan, California.
Honorable Mention: Lani Elston, Arizona; Cassandra Kirkland, Arizona; Alissa Kuczka, ASU; Tiffany Tavee, ASU; Sofie Andersson, California; Erin Andrews, Oregon; Tanya Dergal, USC; Kim Kouwabunpat, Stanford; Lauren Todd, Stanford; Gina Umeck, UCLA; Amber Prange, Washington, Ana Kostina, WSU.