Skip to main content

Legends Descend on Savannah

Many of the games most recognizable players gather this week in Savannah, Ga., for the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf.
For the second year in a row, the event will be contested as an individual official event. Doug Tewell won last year by one shot over Bobby Wadkins.
The event, which was first played in 1978 and led to the creation of the Champions Tour, was played as a team event the first 24 years of its existence.
One thing that didnt change last year, and continues to stay intact, is the implementation of three age brackets. The Demaret Division, a 36-hole team competition for players 70 and older, will play Monday and Tuesday; the Raphael Division, for players 50-69, will compete Friday and Saturday; the Legends Division, which is open to all ages, will be Friday through Sunday.
The Demaret and Raphael Divisions are both team competitions. The Legends Division is an individual 54-hole stroke-play event.
Miller Barber and Jim Ferree won the Demaret Division a year ago. Bruce Lietzke and Bill Rogers captured the Raphael Division.
The event will be held for the first time at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, after four years at the World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Fla.
Related Links
  • Champions Tour Statistical Preview
  • Full coverage of the Emerald Coast Classic