Skip to main content

LPGA Founders to Receive Commissioners Award

The 13 founding members of the LPGA will be given the Commissioner's Award Jan. 8th in ceremonies in Orlando, Fl.
Alice Bauer, Patty Berg, Bettye Danoff, Marlene Hagge, Betty Jameson, Marilynn Smith, Shirley Spork and Louise Suggs will represent the 13 at the ceremony. Others include deceased members Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Smith, Sally Sessions and Babe Zaharias.
'The LPGA is a phenomenal success story, but one that would never have been written if not for the pioneering spirit of our founders,' said LPGA commissioner Ty Votaw.